Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th September 2009, 15:17
cameron365 cameron365 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Smile Memory Problem Ubuntu 8.04

Hi,

I had a xen server with 2 GB of memory, i have moved it (HDD) to new hardware which have 4Gb of RAM but now the server is up when i use 'xm top' it show's me Mem: 3397676k instead of 4GB.

can someone tell me what is the problem?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 13th September 2009, 16:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
uname -a
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th September 2009, 22:50
cameron365 cameron365 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
What's the output of
Code:
uname -a
?
this is the output of
Code:
uname -a

Linux  2.6.24-16-xen #2 SMP Sun Apr 20 05:49:43 JST 2008 i686 GNU/Linux
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th September 2009, 12:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

You have a 32bit system which can use only about 3GB of RAM. If you want to use the full RAM, you need a 64bit OS.
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...1012237AAlCYFg
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th September 2009, 16:03
cameron365 cameron365 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Can i upgrade it to 64bit version nor i have to reinstall the OS?
sorry for any inconvenience
by the way when my hardware shows 4Gb of memory that mean i can install 64bit version of ubuntu, isnt it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th September 2009, 14:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

You have to reinstall the system, you cannot update from 32 to 64 bit.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier, MySQL And SquirrelMail -Ubuntu 8.04 c4rdinal HOWTO-Related Questions 112 23rd August 2011 10:49
VMware 2.0 on ubuntu server 8.04 robertomason HOWTO-Related Questions 4 6th January 2009 22:13
Perfect Server Ubuntu 8.04 page 4 bind problem? navop Installation/Configuration 4 3rd July 2008 23:02
ISPconfig problem - The perfect server Ubuntu 8.04 charles HOWTO-Related Questions 5 20th May 2008 23:54
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.