#1  
Old 19th June 2009, 12:49
xudonglu xudonglu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question few questions about httpd

Hi All,
I am runnig apache on centos5 with few name based VHOSTs. I have few question as below. If anyone can help me with it, I would be greatly appreciative


Dose apache allow to restart/shut down/reload individual VHOST without interrupt others? if so, how to do that?

is there any way i can possibly find out how many vhosts is runig at the same time?

Thank you all in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2009, 15:58
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 242
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

No, they are all served up by the same instance of Apache.

To find them all, you can grep your config file(s) for ServerName
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to id10t For This Useful Post:
xudonglu (19th June 2009)
  #3  
Old 19th June 2009, 19:12
xudonglu xudonglu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by id10t View Post
No, they are all served up by the same instance of Apache.

To find them all, you can grep your config file(s) for ServerName
Hello,,thank you for your reply.
however, it is not the solution that I am looking for. I need to check vhost details via running background and dump into a plain text and manupliate them afterwards for certain purposes rather than go straight in the config file.

But thank you any way!! :->
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th June 2009, 13:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xudonglu View Post
Dose apache allow to restart/shut down/reload individual VHOST without interrupt others? if so, how to do that?
No, that's not possible. However, in most cases, an Apache reload (instead of a restart) is enough, and a reload doesn't interrupt the service.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd June 2009, 13:29
xudonglu xudonglu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Smile Hello - Found the solution

Hello Guys,

Thank you all very much for your suggestion.

I've found the solution

/usr/sbin/httpd -S


Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server brought to a crawl v2k Server Operation 14 29th May 2008 18:40
CENTOS 5 Ping Problem gAnDo Server Operation 11 28th March 2008 21:58
Apache / httpd restart / startup failed without errors Aldert Server Operation 11 30th January 2008 18:11
MaxClients set to appropriate level, but ISPconfig is crashing from it (I think) bpmee Server Operation 6 11th January 2007 20:29
Virtual Users and Domains with Postfix ... (FC5) remstedt HOWTO-Related Questions 23 13th December 2006 14:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.