Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 19th June 2009, 06:46
dodimar dodimar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Help for a totally noob on ISPconfig

Hi, sorry if this post is inappropriate.

I was trying to read the documentation but I am boggled.

I was able to setup ISPconfig 2 on a server with a single IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx on domain.co.cc (I used co.cc domain)

now, the big question I have is, what will be my next step. The guide on howtoforge's "ISPConfig 2.x - First Steps (Creating Web Sites, Email Addresses, Etc.)" is a bit unclear for me.

I was able to set up a client but when I logged in as a client, there were no options to add a website...

Also, if may domain is domain.co.cc, can I just set ns1.domain.co.cc, etc.. for name server?

thanks very much..

Just want to emphasize that this is my first attempt on having full control of a VPS.. i've been a webclient before but only as a customer (CPanel). Please help..

Edit:

By the way, this is on a production server, not on a local network.

Last edited by dodimar; 19th June 2009 at 08:04. Reason: added info..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th June 2009, 08:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

Quote:
I was able to set up a client but when I logged in as a client, there were no options to add a website...
Client logins are for managing existing websites. To create a website you use the admin or a reseller login.

Quote:
Also, if may domain is domain.co.cc, can I just set ns1.domain.co.cc, etc.. for name server?
Yes and no. You can use ns1.domain.co.cc as hostaname of the dns server of the domain domain.co.cc but you will have to make sure that ns1.domain.co.cc exists as a dns A-Record pointing to the IP of the server and you will have to ask your provider to create a glue record for it as ns1.domain.co.cc is a subdomain of domain.co.cc
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th June 2009, 08:10
dodimar dodimar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Client logins are for managing existing websites. To create a website you use the admin or a reseller login.



Yes and no. You can use ns1.domain.co.cc as hostaname of the dns server of the domain domain.co.cc but you will have to make sure that ns1.domain.co.cc exists as a dns A-Record pointing to the IP of the server and you will have to ask your provider to create a glue record for it as ns1.domain.co.cc is a subdomain of domain.co.cc
Ah, so website will be created under reseller then... thanks for that..

Now as for the name server part.. how do I do that..

I have domain.co.cc, it is pointing to the IP of my server.... could I use this method: point domain.co.cc to afraid.org's name servers; then under afraid.org, point domain.co.cc to my server IP and create subdomains (ns1, ns2, etc) pointing to my server IP?

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th June 2009, 08:14
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

Here is a tutorial if you really want to run your own dns servers:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

I d not recomend to run your own dns if you have no deeper knowledge about dns. BBetter you leave it as it is and use the dns of your provider as you are doing it already.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
dodimar (20th June 2009)
  #5  
Old 19th June 2009, 08:21
dodimar dodimar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Here is a tutorial if you really want to run your own dns servers:

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

I d not recomend to run your own dns if you have no deeper knowledge about dns. BBetter you leave it as it is and use the dns of your provider as you are doing it already.
will read that.. but might take your suggestion not to run my own dns..

but need more info on that..

when you refer to "provider", is it the domain provider..?

my VPS provider didn't gave me any name servers...

name servers had been a big question mark to me since I went to web publishing...

Thanks for your patience...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th June 2009, 10:21
dodimar dodimar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am still at lost at this.

Sorry if I sound impatient.

What name server should I use for the domains that will be hosted on my server.

Also, I will be providing only the webhosting (since this is free), I won't have control of them. So I need to provide them a name server to point their domains.

Thanks..
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20th June 2009, 12:21
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

This should give you the idea how you can create glue records: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
dodimar (20th June 2009)
  #8  
Old 20th June 2009, 13:19
dodimar dodimar is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 24
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks, i'll look into those...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 22:47
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Installation/Configuration 14 18th January 2009 13:41
ISPConfig 2.2.13 released till General 35 23rd July 2007 16:28
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.