#1  
Old 10th April 2007, 21:19
pitchinnate pitchinnate is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig intial setup

Just installed CentOS 4.4 using HowToForge's perfect setup instructions and then installed ISPconfig without any errors. I am currently just setting up this server just to test this system and play around with it to learn it. I may possibly put a actual live server out there eventually but first I want to make sure I know the system well enough.

When I get to the part of the installation where it asks you the questions about initial setup it asks you for the domain name it uses xyz.de as an example. For right now since I am just testing I was going to use a domain that doesn't exist, however, if I try to do this it says it can't connect to it.

Do I have to actually use a domain I own (that is pointed at my IP address) just to test the system?

I used xyz.de like it used as an example, then went through the rest of the installation and when I tried to go to https://xyz.de:81 it doesn't pull up the main screen of the ISPconfig. In my network settings I have set 127.0.0.1 as my DNS server in network settings.

Also when I restart the system when CentOS goes through the boot sequence and is starting up all the different services it gets stuck on ISPconfig.

Any help anyone could give would be great.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th April 2007, 09:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,266 Times in 4,129 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Do I have to actually use a domain I own (that is pointed at my IP address) just to test the system?
No, for testing purposes you can leave the hostname blank and enter your IP address when being asked for your domain.

Quote:
I used xyz.de like it used as an example, then went through the rest of the installation and when I tried to go to https://xyz.de:81 it doesn't pull up the main screen of the ISPconfig. In my network settings I have set 127.0.0.1 as my DNS server in network settings.
This will not work with a non existing domain. Please use the IP of your server instead of the domain.

Quote:
Also when I restart the system when CentOS goes through the boot sequence and is starting up all the different services it gets stuck on ISPconfig.
You encrypted your SSL certificate. The installation manual tells you to not encrypt it. You will have to create a new certificate as described here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
pitchinnate (11th April 2007)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig Virtual Hosts + Perfect setup Problem ? orasis Installation/Configuration 5 16th March 2007 10:46
New Setup Question using Debian ISPConfig Rocky Installation/Configuration 1 28th February 2007 19:00
Setup DNS on ISPConfig QuikeMore Installation/Configuration 1 27th July 2006 09:08
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 09:45
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.