Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th June 2009, 01:47
nikoladd nikoladd is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with subdomain

I had a problem with subdomain usage with ISPC3. I needed a subdomain with a separate document root but it kept showing the main domain.

I found out that this happens if you give a speciffic IP to the main domain but use the * for the subdomain(subdomain is a separate site here) while both are pointed to the same IP by DNS.

Resolutions are:
1) point the subdomain to a different IP (DNS A record)
2) set it explicitly to listen on the same IP in the "edit site" screen
3) unset the explicit IP for the main domain vhost in the "edit site" screen

Hope this will help someone. I lost half a day looking stupid at this problem

P.S. It is actually an apache quirk...but still may be usefull.

Last edited by nikoladd; 14th June 2009 at 01:50.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th June 2009, 11:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,001
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,650 Times in 4,460 Posts
 
Default

Either you have to select a IP (can be the same IP) for both sites or you will have to use * for boths sites. It does not matter if its a subdomain or a different domain, asl long as they point to the same IP you will have to use either * for all domains on this IP or select the IP address for all sites instead of * but do not mix it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
subdomain

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
postfix mysql on fedora core5 igongora Installation/Configuration 7 17th April 2007 05:40
Problem with SubDomain/ index.php & internal server error. thecaptainjs Installation/Configuration 2 22nd February 2007 22:17
Another problem add subdomain dnikola Installation/Configuration 3 15th May 2006 18:40
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.