Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd August 2005, 14:27
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default PHP Safe Mode & Directory Permissions

I have 2 questions.

1. Why did it automatically set Safe mode ON, on all my Virtual Servers?
2. Why are the directories default CHMOD 775 and files CHMOD 664?

I'm a bit paranoid about the chmod values. How can I change to CHMOD 755 for folders and CHMOD 644 for files when I create a new Virtual Servers?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd August 2005, 14:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Why did it automatically set Safe mode ON, on all my Virtual Servers?
Do you mean that the PHP Safe Mode checkbox is already checked when you create a new web site? Then I guess you've defined a hosting template that has Safe Mode on.
Otherwise I think you have Safe Mode on in your php.ini.

Quote:
Why are the directories default CHMOD 775 and files CHMOD 664?
That's because under Sendmail procmail recipes aren't executed if the parent directories don't have 775. I think it's different with Postfix, but I'm not 100% sure, so I wouldn't try to change the permissions as your mail delivery might fail afterwards.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd August 2005, 14:55
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
Do you mean that the PHP Safe Mode checkbox is already checked when you create a new web site?
Yea, thats why. I wasn't paying attention with checking the 3 domain's feature boxes. This is a new box Debian box this time . Thanks for reminding me that I need thicker glasses.

Quote:
That's because under Sendmail procmail recipes aren't executed if the parent directories don't have 775. I think it's different with Postfix, but I'm not 100% sure, so I wouldn't try to change the permissions as your mail delivery might fail afterwards.
I'm using postfix and isn't it a secuiry risk to have the "web" folder with that type of permission? I'm not claiming it is. It's just I'm used to having folder at 755 and files at 644.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd August 2005, 15:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,240 Times in 4,108 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
I'm using postfix and isn't it a secuiry risk to have the "web" folder with that type of permission? I'm not claiming it is. It's just I'm used to having folder at 755 and files at 644.
Every web has ist own group and the folder is owned by that group.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd August 2005, 17:53
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

If no one else objects I'll take your word for it . It's just that a certain Gallery script will not let me continue the installation unless the "web" permissions are set to 755. . So dump the script?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd August 2005, 18:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
If no one else objects I'll take your word for it . It's just that a certain Gallery script will not let me continue the installation unless the "web" permissions are set to 755. . So dump the script?
You can chmod the web folder to 755.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th August 2005, 03:44
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Quote:
You can chmod the web folder to 755.
I will do that. Is chmod 775 / 664 a requirement for postfix? If no, where can I set the perams for changing it? I want to make it a default 755 folders / 644 files whenever I create an new site in ISPC and upload/create things through FTP client. Is that possible given the current environment and applications installed?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th August 2005, 10:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,726 Times in 2,565 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
I will do that. Is chmod 775 / 664 a requirement for postfix? If no, where can I set the perams for changing it? I want to make it a default 755 folders / 644 files whenever I create an new site in ISPC and upload/create things through FTP client. Is that possible given the current environment and applications installed?
You can change the function make docroot() in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php. There all chmods are done.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th August 2005, 10:28
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Thank you for the pointing it out. I have my peice of mind now that my idiot friends and brother can install whatever they like .

PS. Oh I sure wished quick reply was enabled on this board
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th December 2005, 16:18
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
Thank you for the pointing it out. I have my peice of mind now that my idiot friends and brother can install whatever they like .

PS. Oh I sure wished quick reply was enabled on this board
It is! Click the button to the right of the Quote button
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[error] an unkown filter was not added: PHP Arien Installation/Configuration 12 7th October 2006 14:17
apache user/group won't create directory weedguy Installation/Configuration 6 19th September 2005 23:40
php safe mode not working.. hagel Installation/Configuration 2 18th August 2005 10:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.