Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th April 2006, 13:08
leen leen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default http://ipadres.mysite

Is there a way type in my ipadres followed by a name so that I can work around the dns.

I had a site one time and it worked like http://0.0.0.0./mysite.com
While I was waiting (a whole weekend)for the nameservers to resolve after signing up. I could aproach it.

Is this also possible with isp?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th April 2006, 13:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You can change your client PCs' hosts file, if you don't have an internal DNS server at hand: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th April 2006, 16:48
leen leen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 49
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

In this case I think it would bet better to add the isp dnsserver to clients networkcard settings manualy.
One can use the domain name used in isp.

Thank you for info
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.