#1  
Old 10th April 2006, 16:41
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default Quota doesn't work

Quota was installed according to:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
after a rebot I did the following tasks:

Quote:
sarge03:~# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/hda3 [/] done
quotacheck: Checked 2934 directories and 36983 files
quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile //quota.user.new to name //quota.user: Die Operation ist nicht erlaubt
quotacheck: Cannot rename new quotafile //quota.group.new to name //quota.group: Die Operation ist nicht erlaubt
sarge03:~# quotaon -avug
quotaon: using //quota.group on /dev/hda3 [/]: Das Gerät oder die Ressource ist belegt
quotaon: using //quota.user on /dev/hda3 [/]: Das Gerät oder die Ressource ist belegt
I don't no what's wrong.

tom
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2006, 17:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/fstab?
What's the output of
Code:
df -h
?
What's the output of
Code:
ls -la /
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2006, 17:41
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

/etc/fstab
Quote:
/dev/hda3 / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 0 0
df -h
Quote:
/dev/hda3 2,5G 791M 1,6G 34% /
tmpfs 76M 4,0K 76M 1% /dev/shm
Quote:
ls -la
This question seem not complete. ls from where, which directory?

By the way, what does the 0 0 beside defaults,usrquota,grpquota mean?

tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2006, 18:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
This question seem not complete. ls from where, which directory?
I didn't ask for the output of
Code:
ls -la
, but
Code:
ls -la /
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th April 2006, 19:29
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I didn't ask for the output of
Code:
ls -la
, but
Code:
ls -la /
sorry that's my fault.

there is the output:

Quote:
sarge03:/etc/exim4# ls -la /
insgesamt 236
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root 4096 2006-04-10 16:36 .
drwxr-xr-x 21 root root 4096 2006-04-10 16:36 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2006-04-09 19:53 bin
drwxr-xr-x 4 root root 4096 2006-04-09 19:51 boot
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root 24576 2006-04-10 16:30 dev
drwxr-xr-x 59 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:32 etc
drwxrwsr-x 7 root staff 4096 2006-04-10 01:25 home
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 initrd
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 27 2006-04-09 19:51 initrd.img -> boot/initrd.img-2.6.8-3-686
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 4096 2006-04-09 22:57 lib
drwx------ 2 root root 16384 2005-09-27 16:56 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 media
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2004-12-15 23:55 mnt
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 95 root root 0 2006-04-10 16:30 proc
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 18:28 quota.group
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:36 quota.group.new
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:42 quota.user
-rw------- 1 root root 2097120 2006-04-10 16:36 quota.user.new
drwxr-xr-x 7 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:27 root
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2006-04-10 00:09 sbin
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2005-09-27 16:59 srv
drwxr-xr-x 9 root root 0 2006-04-10 16:30 sys
drwxrwxrwt 4 root root 4096 2006-04-10 18:28 tmp
drwxr-xr-x 12 root root 4096 2006-04-09 20:04 usr
drwxr-xr-x 14 root root 4096 2006-04-09 21:06 var
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 24 2006-04-09 19:51 vmlinuz -> boot/vmlinuz-2.6.8-3-686
tom
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2006, 12:46
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

How do I get the quota working?

tom
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th April 2006, 13:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Run
Code:
rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11th April 2006, 19:52
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Run
Code:
rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
In
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
you explain to do touch /home/aquota.group to put the aquota.group file in home.
Do I need them both, /home/aquota.group and /quota.group?

Where is the right place to create? I think it's / isn't it?
I thought aquota and quote are ony different versions.

PS:
By the way, there are two mistakes in your example code:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
1. It should be touch /home/aquota.user and not touch home/aquota.user
2. It should be chmod 600 /home/aquota.* and not chmod 600/home/aquota.*.
_______________________________________missing blank space ^

tom

Last edited by tom; 11th April 2006 at 21:46.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th April 2006, 11:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
In
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
you explain to do touch /home/aquota.group to put the aquota.group file in home.
Do I need them both, /home/aquota.group and /quota.group?
You want to install quota on /, not /home, so
Code:
rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
is correct.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tom
PS:
By the way, there are two mistakes in your example code:
http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm
1. It should be touch /home/aquota.user and not touch home/aquota.user
2. It should be chmod 600 /home/aquota.* and not chmod 600/home/aquota.*.
_______________________________________missing blank space ^

tom
Thanks for the hint, I've fixed the errors.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12th April 2006, 23:50
tom tom is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 492
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You want to install quota on /, not /home, so
Code:
rm -f /quota.*
touch /quota.user /quota.group
chmod 600 /quota.*
mount -o remount /
quotacheck -avugm
quotaon -avug
is correct.



Thanks for the hint, I've fixed the errors.
It's my turn to say many, many thanks to you for your great work and help for all humans:-)

There are still questions.... about the quota. I've created a new thread.

tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quota on JFS raid1 problem- cant find filesystem Chaoticmass Server Operation 2 19th March 2006 23:03
Perfect Installation Fedora Core 4 cybereatl Installation/Configuration 30 8th March 2006 04:42
Quota doesn't work chris82 HOWTO-Related Questions 16 20th February 2006 11:00
Syntax error in Quota? st2xo Installation/Configuration 2 13th February 2006 11:30
another quota question... Ovidiu General 9 21st December 2005 01:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.