#1  
Old 22nd August 2005, 20:08
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default password

Is there any way to retrieve or reset the admin password for ISPConfig? Am I screwed?

I'm almost positive I'm entering the right password, but ISPConfig won't let me in. I can still login on the machine as root.

Last edited by m u r; 22nd August 2005 at 20:36.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd August 2005, 22:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

You can use phpMyAdmin. In your ISPConfig database, go to the table sys_user and fill in "admin" (using MySQL's MD5 function!) in the passwort column of the user admin.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd August 2005, 22:09
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

What's the easiest way to install phpMyAdmin outside of ISPConfig, and will that mess up ISPConfig?

What's the MD5 function?

Last edited by m u r; 22nd August 2005 at 22:22.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd August 2005, 22:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,794
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,612 Times in 4,423 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
What's the easiest way to install phpMyAdmin outside of ISPConfig, and will that mess up ISPConfig?
If you have already a site configured in ISPConfig that has php enabled, you can install phpmyadmin there. Download it from the phpmyadmin homepage and follow the installation instructions inside the phpmyadmin package.


Quote:
Originally Posted by m u r
What's the MD5 function?
Thats a function in mySQL. The SQL query to update the password is:

Code:
UPDATE sys_user SET passwort = md5('myNewPassword') WHERE username = 'admin'
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
mtuser (14th July 2007)
  #5  
Old 22nd August 2005, 23:08
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

I am a complete novice, and I apologize.

Thanks for your reply. I do have sites set up, but I don't think there are databases yet.

the following are the phpMyAdmin install instructions, but I do not understand some things:

1. Untar or unzip the distribution (be sure to unzip the subdirectories): tar -xzvf phpMyAdmin_x.x.x.tar.gz in your webserver's document root Does this mean the box's root? . . . /root/ ? . If you don't have direct access to your document root, put the files in a directory on your local machine, and, after step 3, transfer the directory on your web server using, for example, ftp.

2. Ensure that all the scripts have the appropriate owner (if PHP is running in safe mode, having some scripts with an owner different from the owner of other scripts will be a problem). See FAQ 4.2 for suggestions. Do I need to worry about this?

3. Open the file config.inc.php in your favorite editor and change the values WHERE do I change the values? for host, user, password and authentication mode to fit your environment. Here, "host" means the MySQL server host: rmweb.rwhm.net?. Have a look at Configuration section for an explanation of all values. Please also read the remaining of this Installation section for information about authentication modes and the linked-tables infrastructure.

4. It is recommended that you protect the directory in which you installed phpMyAdmin (unless it's on a closed intranet, or you wish to use HTTP or cookie authentication), for example with HTTP-AUTH (in a .htaccess file). See the multi-user sub-section of the FAQ for additional information, especially FAQ 4.4. Do I need to worry about this?

5. Open the file <www.your-host.com>/<your-install-dir>/index.php rmweb.rwhm.net/ ? /index.php
in your browser. phpMyAdmin should now display a welcome screen and your databases, or a login dialog if using HTTP or cookie authentication mode.

Sorry for all this, but I'm going crazy and am desperate for help!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd August 2005, 23:15
thebigfing thebigfing is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The PHP my admin can be download from here and can be installed by draging and dropping and then change the config file.

MD5 is a description you can create a MD5 hashe on this website:

http://thebigfing.no-ip.com/convert/

The Big Fing
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd August 2005, 23:23
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

Drag and drop where? I downloaded it and it's unpacked in the root's home folder. I'm sorry. I need specific instructions. I am completely lost.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd August 2005, 23:57
thebigfing thebigfing is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You must drag and drop it in your website folder so you can reeche it whit your webbrouwser. You must also edit the config file the coments give you there atvice so that you now what you must type in.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23rd August 2005, 01:47
m u r m u r is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 152
Thanks: 13
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via AIM to m u r Send a message via MSN to m u r
Default

OK, I uploaded phpMyAdmin onto the site and can access it. I clicked "browse" next to sys_user in my ispconfigdb. I checked the user "admin" and clicked the pencil to edit it. The row "passwort," I selected the MD5 function, and entered "UPDATE sys_user SET passwort = md5('myNewPassword') WHERE username = 'admin'" in the value input. Then I clicked "go" at the bottom of the first section of fields. I wasn't sure if I needed to do anything after that.

and . . .

I still can't login.

Earlier . . . I logged into the box as root and changed the password for the user "admispconfig," thinking it was the password to login to port 81. Could this be the reason?

Last edited by m u r; 23rd August 2005 at 02:02.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd August 2005, 02:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

I've made 2 screenshots that show you how to do it.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
root password for Knoppix? kermit Technical 3 8th May 2007 01:06
Forgot root password leno Technical 3 9th October 2005 00:40
Installing on a x86_64 based system? hkaiser Installation/Configuration 23 20th August 2005 21:51
Uninstalled/Reinstalled now FTP users are not added adamluz Installation/Configuration 2 19th August 2005 00:47
ProFTPD Logins and Authentication pete General 9 15th August 2005 00:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.