Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 31st May 2009, 22:54
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Newb: Do I need to run a dns server?

Hi,

Quick question...

I want to run a mailserver for several domains which point to my ip address.

Do I need to run a DNS server to do this? Or is it sufficient that the domains resolve to my external ip address?

I don't understand the concept of a "fully qualified domain name"...

Thanks :-)

Slowhand
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st June 2009, 13:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

No, you don't need to run a DNS server, provided that someone else is running the DNS servers for your domains (usually your domain registrar).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st June 2009, 14:01
Slowhand Slowhand is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 96
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
No, you don't need to run a DNS server, provided that someone else is running the DNS servers for your domains (usually your domain registrar).
Falko,

Many thanks. That's what I thought :-)

Slowhand
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd June 2009, 12:27
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

@ Falko,

Quote : "No, you don't need to run a DNS server, provided that someone else is running the DNS servers for your domains (usually your domain registrar)."

I am on Fedora 10 with ISPConfig 3.0.1.3 without DNS zone and so and actually everything seems to be working.
Will I have an advantage like better performance or better security when I use the DNS wizard for all kind of records ?

In server config I used the machine IP instead of my ISP IP and NS from my domain registrar.
__________________
With Respect, Robert
------------------------------------------------
Fedora 15 - ISPConfig v3.0.3.3
On Dell Optiplex GX270, Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz, 1024 Mb
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd June 2009, 19:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robertlouwen View Post
@ Falko,

Quote : "No, you don't need to run a DNS server, provided that someone else is running the DNS servers for your domains (usually your domain registrar)."

I am on Fedora 10 with ISPConfig 3.0.1.3 without DNS zone and so and actually everything seems to be working.
Will I have an advantage like better performance or better security when I use the DNS wizard for all kind of records ?

In server config I used the machine IP instead of my ISP IP and NS from my domain registrar.
Do you want to run your own DNS server, or does your registrar host your DNS records for you?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd June 2009, 19:42
robertlouwen robertlouwen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Brielle, Netherlands
Posts: 141
Thanks: 20
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Good evening Falko,

For me the question is do I need to run a DNS server.

At my server I will host something.org and something.nu ( both registered and the registrar host DNS records ) and for my son something.nl ( registered at an other registrar )

And that will be it. I don't intend to start my own registrar company or hosting company
__________________
With Respect, Robert
------------------------------------------------
Fedora 15 - ISPConfig v3.0.3.3
On Dell Optiplex GX270, Pentium 4, 2.8 GHz, 1024 Mb
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd June 2009, 16:30
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

If the registrars are hosting the DNS records, then you don't need to run a DNS server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
robertlouwen (3rd June 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FTP cannot open remote folder!?! andysm849 Server Operation 23 16th October 2008 23:34
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11
two-in-one DNS server - problem with views sPENKMAN HOWTO-Related Questions 5 20th February 2007 17:32
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.