Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 30th May 2009, 03:18
tremor tremor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem with ISPconfig / joomla

Hi!

I'm trying to set up a couple of different sites on a server using joomla and ISPconfig but I ran into som problems so I hope someone here can help me out.

First I created client A and site A in ISPc. I enabled php-scripts and mysql for the site (along with mail user login, those were the only three options that I checked). Then I set up a database for joomla and copied all the joomla files to the web directory. Finally I went through the joomla webinstallation procedure and everything worked out just perfectly! I'm sort of a newbie here so it's a huge relief for me everytime something do work out just like I inteded it to...

So time for site B... I create a new client, client B, and a new site, site B. I enable php scripts and mysql (no mail user login this time, that's the only difference from site A). I copy the joomla files (same files as before) but this time when I go to the site to do the webinstallation of joomla the index.php file does not execute but is instead displayed in firefox as plain text. I also tried IE but then index.php just downloads to my computer.

There is one difference between site A and B and that is that I have not yet recieved the domain for site B. I solved this by creating a symlink from the sharedip directory (where I ended up when I typed in the ip-address to the server in my browser) to the web-directory of site B. So now when I type in xxx.xxx.x.xx/symlink/ I come to the default index.html file of site B and when I type in xxx.xxx.x.xx/symlink/index.php I come to the joomla index.php file, but like I said, it just comes up on the screen as plain text.

So I guess my question is why doesn't the php-code execute on site B when it did (and still do) on site A? Hope someone out there can help me out!!!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th May 2009, 10:53
shajazzi shajazzi is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 125
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hi tremor,
Did you set some limits like in the example image below?


shajazzi
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th May 2009, 12:24
tremor tremor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi!

No, I did not set any limits. In the checkboxes part I enabled php-scripts and mysql (1 database) and nothing else.

Tremor
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st May 2009, 11:43
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
There is one difference between site A and B and that is that I have not yet recieved the domain for site B. I solved this by creating a symlink from the sharedip directory (where I ended up when I typed in the ip-address to the server in my browser) to the web-directory of site B. So now when I type in xxx.xxx.x.xx/symlink/ I come to the default index.html file of site B and when I type in xxx.xxx.x.xx/symlink/index.php I come to the joomla index.php file, but like I said, it just comes up on the screen as plain text.
and that exactly your problem. You can not access websites trogh a symlink from the shared IP directory. >ou have to access the site trogh its domain name, if the domain has not been registered yet, then add it to the hosts file on your workstation to be able to use it to access the site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
tremor (1st June 2009)
  #5  
Old 1st June 2009, 00:35
tremor tremor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

That's it! Thanks a lot!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig installation into multiple OpenVZ containers letezo Installation/Configuration 11 3rd March 2009 23:47
ISPConfig 2.2.29 webalizer awstats problem dvazart General 3 30th January 2009 23:21
Virtual users... Ubuntu 8.04 spaceuser HOWTO-Related Questions 12 19th June 2008 09:04
ISPconfig Dovecot problem dolmax General 2 15th March 2008 14:17
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 11:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.