Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th May 2009, 15:37
kbudha kbudha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default RE: VMware Server 2 installed on Ubuntu 9.04

Just trying to get an idea of the memory and processor usage of vmware server 2. Have not come across any docs on the subject. Anyone have some average load stats they can share?

Running P4 3Ghz (single core, 32 bit) with 3 Gb ddr2 (have 4 Gb installed but only reading 3).

Can my system handle it?????

Tired of dual boot.
Want an Ubuntu system with XP vm that can run specialties not available in linux (rosetta stone, halo 1, anime studio, mediacoder, MS VS C++).

Just trying to understand my best options. Feel vmware is best choice but on budget, so its either Server or ESX 3.5 (4.0 only for 64 bit).
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th May 2009, 19:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I don't have any benchmarks, but your hardware specs look good. But I think instead of VMware Server 2 I'd rather use VirtualBox.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th May 2009, 22:58
kbudha kbudha is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default From reliable sources

Virtualbox can't play halo. From reliable sources.
I'm googling it though for confirmation since virtualbox was made for ubuntu and is probably even less a load burden.

Quite new to linux. Running a dual hd system. Have Ubuntu on C: (excuse me sda).

Planning on using sdb (D for my virtual disk image space. (Originally had XP on C: Ubuntu on D: in dual boot fashion with grub)

What's up with having to acquire write permission on sdb? How do I go about this?

If you could link me to possibly an older tutorial of yours (no doubt just as great) I would build monuments of your visage.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th May 2009, 13:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

You'd have to format sdb with fdisk...
Code:
fdisk /dev/sdb
... and then mount the new partition(s) on sdb. Take a look at
Code:
man mount
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
vmware server 2

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu Server, postfix, gmail relay sjau Server Operation 3 14th December 2010 19:20
just dl'd + installed ubuntu 8 server... concerned about recent ssh security issue zskillz Installation/Configuration 4 27th December 2009 16:22
Ubuntu 8.04 Server LTS and VMware Server 1.05 Ken Lee Suggest HOWTO 3 10th June 2008 17:03
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 23:53
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 16:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.