Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th May 2009, 13:13
gilas gilas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default apache stopped ... not restarted...

3 days ago i installed correctly without errors ISPConfig version 3.0.1.1
today I attemped an update to 3.0.1.2. version, failed. This is the last log lines:

Stopping Courier POP3-SSL server: pop3d-ssl.
Starting Courier POP3-SSL server: pop3d-ssl.
[Mon May 25 08:16:27 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 443, the first has precedence
[Mon May 25 08:16:27 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 443, the first has precedence
Restarting web server: apache2 failed!
Restarting ftp server: Running: /usr/sbin/pure-ftpd-mysql-virtualchroot -l mysql:/etc/pure-ftpd/db/mysql.conf -l pam -A -O clf:/var/log/pure-ftpd/transfer.log -E -b -u 1000 -B
Update finished.
web11:~/ispconfig3_install/install# /etc/inid
web11:~/ispconfig3_install/install# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
Restarting web server: apache2[Mon May 25 08:17:06 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 443, the first has precedence
[Mon May 25 08:17:06 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 443, the first has precedence
failed!
web11:~/ispconfig3_install/install#

apache doesn' restart anymore.

Note: I'm working under lenny v. 5.0.1. To force the previous ISPConfig install (v. 3.0.1.1) I modified a line within the installer; this because the installer doesn't recognize my version and stops (checks only looking for "5.0" string and not for "5.0.1" with a trim funcion in PHP).

Thank you very much
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th May 2009, 14:28
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,974
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,367 Times in 4,214 Posts
Default

Please take a loom into the apache error log to find the reason why it does not start.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th May 2009, 09:29
gilas gilas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default apache2 error log....

Hi Till
many thanx.... this is the extract of error.log (apache):

[Mon May 25 07:07:04 2009] [warn] Init: SSL server IP/port conflict: prova002.xxxxx.it:443 (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/prova002.xxxxx.it.vhost:74) vs. prova003.cc.xxxxx.it:443 (/etc/apache2/sites-enabled/prova003.cc.xxxxx.it.vhost:66)
[Mon May 25 07:07:04 2009] [warn] Init: You should not use name-based virtual hosts in conjunction with SSL!!
[Mon May 25 07:07:04 2009] [notice] Apache/2.2.9 (Debian) PHP/5.2.6-1+lenny3 with Suhosin-Patch mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.8g configured -- resuming normal operations
[Mon May 25 07:07:04 2009] [warn] long lost child came home! (pid 1024)
[Mon May 25 07:08:01 2009] [notice] Graceful restart requested, doing restart
[Mon May 25 07:08:04 2009] [warn] _default_ VirtualHost overlap on port 443, the first has precedence


NOTE: I wish to use ISPConfig 3.x a self-signed certificate for each site.
Trying ISPConfig I have only created two sites and for each site a cert.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th May 2009, 09:37
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,974
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,367 Times in 4,214 Posts
Default

You have to select a different IP address for every site were you enable SSL. You can not use * for SSL sites.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th May 2009, 12:46
gilas gilas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default do you mean ...

the following code (from: /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/hostname.domain.it.vhost)

################################################## #########
# SSL Vhost
################################################## #########

<VirtualHost *:443>
DocumentRoot /var/www/clients/client1/web1/web


now the problems is that I can access to ISPConfig to modify the records, so I can do it manually. Maybe I must to youse an IP address for each site activated (i.e. substitute in the line above the asterisk with the IP)?

I have not IP free; I need to switch to the previous (not SSL) configuration; I suppose to do this I must to clear all the SSL Vhost section from apache configuration file for each host or I make a mistake?!?

Thank you very much....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th May 2009, 13:32
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,974
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,367 Times in 4,214 Posts
Default

You have to select the IP address in ISPConfig and not * in the website settings as I told you below. You dont have to access or midify any files!
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th May 2009, 16:30
gilas gilas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default reinstalled

Hi Till
the problem is that if I do not modify (manually) I can't restart apache; if I can restart apache I can't use ISPConfig admin panel.

I have uninstalled/reinstalled ISPConfig3 (db was lost... no problem...).

Then I tried (if happens to other people) this:

edit each file in /etc/apache2/site-enabled/

removing the SSL section.

Before: copy into another location the files to modify; not in the same folder otherwise apache includes them!!!

Restarting apache2 all is OK.

Now there is another little problem: howto SSL the panel? I connect to:
www.mysite.it:8080

but this is not a SECURE CONNECTION....

Thank you very much for all.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 4 TPS mail problem Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 13 10th February 2010 18:23
problems with suexec gobokster Installation/Configuration 7 7th May 2009 13:33
CENTOS 5 Ping Problem gAnDo Server Operation 11 28th March 2008 20:58
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 00:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.