#1  
Old 27th January 2006, 00:14
poteus poteus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Installing PHP5 (RH C1)

I am trying to update the PHP4 to PHP5. I followed the step by step HOWTO http://howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4_p4
as a root, I get this :

# apt-get install php php-devel php-gd php-imap php-ldap php-mysql php-odbc php-pear php-xml php-xmlrpc curl curl-devel perl-libwww-perl ImageMagick libxml2 libxml2-devel
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
php is already the newest version.
php-devel is already the newest version.
E: Couldn't find package php-gd

But I still have the PHP Version 4.3.8

What should I do ? I have Core 1 btw ...

Last edited by poteus; 27th January 2006 at 00:42.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th January 2006, 07:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,716 Times in 2,558 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poteus
I am trying to update the PHP4 to PHP5. I followed the step by step HOWTO http://howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4_p4
as a root, I get this :

# apt-get install php php-devel php-gd php-imap php-ldap php-mysql php-odbc php-pear php-xml php-xmlrpc curl curl-devel perl-libwww-perl ImageMagick libxml2 libxml2-devel
Reading Package Lists... Done
Building Dependency Tree... Done
php is already the newest version.
php-devel is already the newest version.
E: Couldn't find package php-gd
What's in /etc/apt/sources.list?


Quote:
Originally Posted by poteus
But I still have the PHP Version 4.3.8

What should I do ? I have Core 1 btw ...
Did you restart Apache? What's in /etc/httpd/conf.d/php.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th March 2006, 05:04
SwellJoe SwellJoe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default Fedora Core 4 already has PHP5, Core 2 does not

The instructions you're following are for Fedora Core 4, which includes php5. Fedora Core 2 includes php4. Nothing wrong with the instructions...you're just using them on the wrong OS version.

Note that Fedora Core 2 has been end-of-lifed by Fedora. It's not a version that I would recommend deploying on new servers. That said, if you insist, it is possible to build php 5 from source on Fedora Core 2 without a whole lot of trouble (I also don't recommend having vital services installed from source--packages provided by the vendor are much easier to keep up to date--but if you need php 5 features, I guess building from source is the easiest way to get there). I'm in the midst of building php5 packages for FC3 and RHEL 3/4, and it's proving quite difficult...normally I'd recommend rebuilding the SRPM to someone in your shoes, but it's definitely not an amateur-friendly task. Building it from source is almost certainly easier.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error while installing..... securitywonks Installation/Configuration 1 23rd December 2005 12:07
Sarge php5 freeType gd pontifex Installation/Configuration 6 7th December 2005 09:37
Need help in configuring FC4 for installing Oracle DB 10g. victagious Installation/Configuration 11 16th November 2005 20:41
Suse 9.3 setup probs with php5 hyperclock Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 21st September 2005 02:34
Installing PHP4 ProTrooper Installation/Configuration 10 29th August 2005 20:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.