#1  
Old 18th May 2009, 00:40
samy samy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Red face IP and DNS setup help needed

Good morning everyone,

I installed a fresh server with ISPCONFIG2; I am willing to host my personel sites on it,I am getting an IP that i do not know how to configure on my PC yet, I am confused what to choose:

1- using a nameserver ns.mydomaine.tld or
2- using the IP : xx.xx.xxx.xxx and point my domains to it.

I need some one to help me which one to choose and how to completely configure the nameserver and the IP step by step since i am newbie.

Thx in advance,
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th May 2009, 11:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you want to run your own nameservers (you need at least two), or do you host your DNS records somewhere else (e.g. at your domain registrar)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th May 2009, 23:41
samy samy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dear Falko,
I have two ip's and i assigned them to one domain i have with enom;
ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com. see the problem is i do not know how to connect to this server using these IP's i only connect to the local IP:192.168.xxx.xx.
but how to configure the main ip to the system, what are config files i need to change and how.
I apreciate you help Falko.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th May 2009, 15:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You must create A records for ns1.mydomain.com and ns2.mydomain.com at the registrar, and then you can use ns1 and ns2 as the nameservers when you register a new domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th May 2009, 19:51
samy samy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Dear Falko,
I did these steps my big problem is that my nameservers and domains are not pinging, Do i need to change config files on the system,i did not change any all i did was pointing the ip to the local one on the router. Also in ispconfig i put the nameserver under ISPManager/server/settings/.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20th May 2009, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

These tutorials might help: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st May 2009, 02:45
samy samy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for the tutorial Falko, I followed all the steps but my sites are always pointing to "Apache HTTP Server Test Page powered by CentOS".
What is the solution,
Thank you for your assistance.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21st May 2009, 09:54
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,774
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,332 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

Is your server behind a router?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21st May 2009, 11:51
samy samy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Till,

Yes my server is behind a router.

On the /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf the document roots are :
Document Root /var/www/web11/web for xxx1.com
Document Root /var/www/web10/web for xxx2.net
but when i type ant site, it goes to : Document Root /var/www/

Thank you for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd May 2009, 16:10
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

What's in /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.