#1  
Old 13th May 2009, 16:44
rdhir rdhir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default subdomains under sites tab

Hi,

I'm struggling a bit with the lack of documentation. And I'm googling but couldn't find anything on topic.

When I create a subdomain under the Sites tab, I would expect it to create the Domain entry under the domain tab or there to be a check box. This does not seem to work, I create the subdomain, but no changes appear domain record, I kind of expect to see a new A record.

TO demonstrate

SITES TAB
CLICK on subdomain on the left

Fields
Host rajiv
Domain dhirs.org.uk
Redirect No Redirect
Redirect Path []
Active Checked

I would then expect to see a new vhost
rajiv.dhirs.org.uk

and a new A record

A rajiv.dhirs.org.uk x.x.x.x

where x.x.x.x matches the record for this host.

I'm basically trying to run wordpress-mu with the multisite domain add in so I can remap

*.blogs.totemspace.com (my ISPConfig 3 server)

to

blog.clienttld.tld

so it would be nice if the subdomain sorted out the entries as I will be using ispconfig/mydns to manage the content dns.

Cheers

Rajiv
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th May 2009, 09:38
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

A subdomain is not a vhost. If you want a new vhost, then add a new website and not a subdomain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th May 2009, 09:53
rdhir rdhir is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 20
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the update! I thinks its more a problem of lack of documentation and clarity in terminology.

Anyway I got the job done, and I'll take a look at seeing if I can script it if people would be interested, but php is not my strong suit.

What I have set up is wordpress mu with the multisite add in. This allows me to set up blogs as subdomains, but currently I have to edit the vhost file manually at the end of the process to make it point back to the wordpress mu directory containing the php.

So for example. If I have an ISP Config host as server.mydomain.com
I create and add a new vhost blogs.mydomain.com. Without the multisite add in you would be limited to either blog1.blogs.mydomain.com or blogs.mydomain.com/blog1. The wordpress code is held in /usr/share/wordpressmu, much like phpmyadmin, and a single database supports all blogs.

With my process its relatively straight forward to have

blog.clientdomain.com

or

user.clientdomain.com

instead.

Current issues are

1) Single database so security is not great but performance is good.
2) Have not thought out delegation of blog site administration, urls are nice, creating the right users is just not clear.
So for example its easy to have
user1.clientdomain.tld
user2.clientdomain.tld
Site Admin url is <anyblog URL>/wp-admin.php


Cheers

Rajiv
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th August 2009, 00:13
Christian Christian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have a simmelair problem.
I have created "www.firstsite.com" so I'll have a folder tree like "/var/www/firstsite.com/web" were my "index.html" is situated.
But now I want to make an subdomain to a folder.

So if I go to Http://subdomain.firstsite.com I'll see the index.html that I placed in the "../subdomain/ folder

The location of this folder is "/var/www/firstsite.com/web/subdomain".
But I tried anything but still didn't work.

I made the subdomain as follows:
host:subdomain
domain: firstsite.com
redirect type: (did all of them! per path)
redirect path: and I tried the following:
1 - /var/www/firstsite.com/web/subdomain/

2 - /web/subdomain/ resulted:

3 - /subdomain
active: yes

This all resulted in one of the error's: (You don't have permission to access / on this server. Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request) or (http://subdomain.firstsite.com/web/s...web/subdomain/ etc. etc.)

Can anyone tell me how to get this working?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 14th August 2009, 14:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Quote:
What I have set up is wordpress mu with the multisite add in. This allows me to set up blogs as subdomains, but currently I have to edit the vhost file manually at the end of the process to make it point back to the wordpress mu directory containing the php.
No manual editing needed. What you did is exactly waht the subdomain is for. Just add as many subdomains as you need and they will all point to the wordpress mu installation of the master site.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th August 2009, 14:20
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian View Post
I have a simmelair problem.
I have created "www.firstsite.com" so I'll have a folder tree like "/var/www/firstsite.com/web" were my "index.html" is situated.
But now I want to make an subdomain to a folder.

So if I go to Http://subdomain.firstsite.com I'll see the index.html that I placed in the "../subdomain/ folder

The location of this folder is "/var/www/firstsite.com/web/subdomain".
But I tried anything but still didn't work.

I made the subdomain as follows:
host:subdomain
domain: firstsite.com
redirect type: (did all of them! per path)
redirect path: and I tried the following:
1 - /var/www/firstsite.com/web/subdomain/

2 - /web/subdomain/ resulted:

3 - /subdomain
active: yes

This all resulted in one of the error's: (You don't have permission to access / on this server. Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request) or (http://subdomain.firstsite.com/web/s...web/subdomain/ etc. etc.)

Can anyone tell me how to get this working?
The correct redirect path is:

/subdomain/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th August 2009, 18:54
Christian Christian is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thx Till,

But can you be a bit more specific? Because I did this with all the redirect types, but no show, and I have an index in place.

Like what does the types mean:
No Flag =
R =
L =
R,L =

Thx in advance

Last edited by Christian; 14th August 2009 at 18:57.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th August 2009, 22:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,717
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,322 Times in 4,175 Posts
 
Default

Please take a look here:

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.0/rew...ite_guide.html
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Christian (15th August 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual Sites & DNS Setup Jayson Wonder Installation/Configuration 27 11th December 2008 18:08
ISPCONFIG 3 - Multiple Sites on the same IP? astewart Developers' Forum 3 28th October 2008 15:32
Help - virtual sites - email not working - what FQDN? sagor Installation/Configuration 4 26th April 2008 19:00
SSL for multiple subdomains chillifire Installation/Configuration 12 16th April 2008 11:01
error sites disabled but still indevidual error sites tom Installation/Configuration 3 13th May 2006 12:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.