Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th May 2009, 10:36
perfectpol7 perfectpol7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default webmin dhcp access control violation error

I am running a fedora 10 and need to configure the dhcp server using webmin dhcp and have encountered a Access control violation error. Here is the error message: Error
Access control violation :

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Server 4.0.0
Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/
/etc/dhcpd.conf line 8: subnet 10.0.0.5 netmask 255.255.255.0: bad subnet number/mask combination.
subnet 192.168.0.10 netmask 255.255.255.0
^
Configuration file errors encountered -- exiting

This version of ISC DHCP is based on the release available
on ftp.isc.org. Features have been added and other changes
have been made to the base software release in order to make
it work better with this distribution.

Please report for this software via the Red Hat Bugzilla site:
http://bugzilla.redhat.com

exiting.


and my /etc/dhcp.conf :-

this ddns-update-style none;
#
# DHCP Server Configuration file.
# see /usr/share/doc/dhcp*/dhcpd.conf.sample
# see 'man 5 dhcpd.conf'
#
# Graphics Department
subnet 10.0.0.5 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option broadcast-address 10.10.0.255;
option routers 192.168.0.1;
range 10.10.0.10 10.10.0.250;
}
My server have two ethernet cards, One connects to the router (192.168.0.10) and the one to my LAN which is 10.0.0.5. how do i recover from this violation error
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th May 2009, 13:43
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

You can not give hosts on a 10.0.0.0/24 network a gateway in the 192.168.0.0/24 network it just will not work. The gateway has to be in the same network
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th May 2009, 13:56
perfectpol7 perfectpol7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I have edit it and to this and the error vanishs. But if i put the IP address of my LAN with is 10.0.0.5 the access violation error appear as a results i remove the last digit to 10.0.0.0 and it works. Here is the output of the dhcp.conf

ddns-update-style none;
#
# DHCP Server Configuration file.
# see /usr/share/doc/dhcp*/dhcpd.conf.sample
# see 'man 5 dhcpd.conf'
#
# Graphics Department
subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option netbios-name-servers 10.0.0.4;
option broadcast-address 10.0.0.255;
option routers 192.168.0.1;
range 10.0.0.70 10.0.0.99;
}

When I start the Dhcp server did not assign ip address, not sure what need to be done
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th May 2009, 13:59
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

your routers option is still wrong.
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th May 2009, 14:27
perfectpol7 perfectpol7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

what is wrong on the router, not sure but my router is 192.168.0.1 what should i do on the router aspect.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th May 2009, 13:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Your router is in a totally different subnet (192.168.0.x vs. 10.0.0.x).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th May 2009, 11:38
perfectpol7 perfectpol7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 79
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

All thanks it now working, but now I have add another subnet called programming with other IP network address not working.

# Graphics Department
subnet 10.0.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
default-lease-time 86400;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
option netbios-name-servers 10.0.0.4;
option broadcast-address 10.0.0.255;
range 10.0.0.70 10.0.0.99;
}
# Programming
subnet 193.10.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
max-lease-time 86400;
default-lease-time 86400;
option netbios-name-servers 10.0.0.7;
option domain-name-servers 10.0.0.5;
option domain-name "perfectpol7.com";
option broadcast-address 193.10.0.255;
option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
range 193.10.0.100 193.10.0.200;
}
This (programming) not assigning ip address and it is on the same LAN
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th May 2009, 18:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

193.x is no private subnet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SVN Access Control List Error PavementPounder Server Operation 0 8th February 2009 05:23
ADSL PCI Modems alexillsley Server Operation 5 9th May 2007 19:32
installing Perl module GD - ran into problems Ovidiu Installation/Configuration 6 19th September 2006 09:32
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 03:38
Webmin docs missing namit Server Operation 11 5th January 2006 09:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.