Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th April 2009, 10:40
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default switching servers, also want to go from ISPCFG2 to ISPCFG3

hi there,

I have to get a new server soon and switch my content to it. I thought this would also be the perfect opportunity to go from ISPCFG2 to ISPCFG3 so I thought I'd rather ask here first.

1. is there a good tutorial for this? otherwise I would have to improvise, maybe you can give me a rough outline at least?
2. any reason not to switch to ISPCFG3?
3. how long will ISPCFG2 receive support now that ISPCFG3 is out?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 28th April 2009, 12:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,269 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

1) No.
2) ISPConfig 3 is not a update for ISPConfig 2, its a different software. So it has other features then ispconfig 2 and not nescessarily all functions like the user login that ispconfig 2 has.
3) For years. ISPConfig 2 and 3 are different software projects and will be developed independantly. See also 2).
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th April 2009, 12:53
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

yes, I know its not upgradable and different.
I just thought 3 would be more "modern" than 2.

Is there a comparison matrix somewhere? Anyone knows the differences?

I mean maybe I don't need the 3 version but how would I know ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th April 2009, 13:12
Jorem Jorem is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

You can download a vmware image to test ISPConfig 3 and check out the differences.

If you have a lot of websites on it I would stick with 2 and wait till there will be an update from 2 to 3. Just to save you a lot of time trying to get everything to work .
If you have a few websites just setup the new system and copy site by site by making new sites/settings in 3. Only takes some work changing path and database differences.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th April 2009, 14:19
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

all I found so far is that ispcfg3 has support for php as fastcgi but I thought that worked with ispcfg2 as well...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th April 2009, 08:09
robilaur robilaur is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 86
Thanks: 4
Thanked 12 Times in 9 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to robilaur
Default

Well in my opinion isp3 is better than isp2 because its support virtual users , its more dynamic, low resorces , and it uses mysql for all witch it makes it faster. The transition is prety easy... just copy the sites as Jerom sayd
__________________
Best Regards,

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th April 2009, 12:56
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

so basically, set up the new server, set up ispcfg, email, apache, mysql configs, etc, then create a new site in ispcfg3 set it up, change the DNS settigns of this site, wait 24h then move all data/DBs and check for references to the old IP and the old database, right?

any other steps I might have forgotten?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th April 2009, 14:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,509
Thanks: 815
Thanked 5,269 Times in 4,130 Posts
Default

Yes, that should work.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd May 2009, 16:01
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,259
Thanks: 76
Thanked 23 Times in 19 Posts
Default

Perfect :-) just moved the first testsite and everything went perfect!

One more related question: I am going to move some domains with loads of emails next, so I was wondering where the Mailfolders are lovated now and where are the user folders located? Is the mail format the same? can I just copy the users mail folders so they don't lose old emails?

Anythign else to take care of when moving users with email?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd May 2009, 20:50
yap yap is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi Tenaka,

I just had the same problem with email. I just copied the files located in /var/www/webXYZ/user/webname/Maildir/cur/ from ISPConfig 2 to the new folder in ISPConfig 3: /var/vmail/webname/mailname/cur and it worked for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to host a forum with multiple web servers? itwillcome Technical 3 11th February 2011 01:26
DNS auto-create zones on all DNS servers assi Server Operation 7 31st March 2009 18:32
merge 2 ispconfig servers in 1 dimitar Installation/Configuration 1 22nd January 2008 08:27
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.