Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2013, 06:46
JohnnyBeGood JohnnyBeGood is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Question FTP - No space left on device - 844GBs free?

Hi all,

I followed The Perfect Server - Ubuntu 12.04 LTS tutorial and installed it on a remote server running Ubuntu Desktop with free "x2go".
Everything seem to work until one of my FTP transfered started to fail.
Using FileZilla I was getting"
Code:
Command:	MKD /New directory
Response:	550 Can't create directory: No space left on device
and
Code:
Command:	DELE -uvari parka - Dojdi didi.mp3
Response:	550 Could not delete -uvari parka - Dojdi didi.mp3: No space left on device
Looks like somehow I configured it wrong and now its not using correct partition?

Code:
root@ser4003281:~# df -h
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs           20G   19G     0 100% /
/dev/root        20G   19G     0 100% /
devtmpfs        3.9G  4.0K  3.9G   1% /dev
none            788M  2.8M  786M   1% /run
none            5.0M  4.0K  5.0M   1% /run/lock
none            3.9G  8.0K  3.9G   1% /run/shm
/dev/root        20G   19G     0 100% /var/www/clients/client1/web2/log
/dev/root        20G   19G     0 100% /var/www/clients/client1/web3/log
/dev/root        20G   19G     0 100% /var/www/clients/client1/web4/log
/dev/md3        898G  8.2G  844G   1% /home
root@ser4003281:~#
TIA
Attached Images
  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th October 2013, 08:01
dwalin dwalin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hi,

your root / is 100% full. You need to free some space in /

you have 844G free in /home, but that is a different partition.

For example: Your webfiles should stay under /var/www and this is on the partitions which are full:

rootfs 20G 19G 0 100% /
/dev/root 20G 19G 0 100% /
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dwalin For This Useful Post:
JohnnyBeGood (8th October 2013)
  #3  
Old 8th October 2013, 16:10
JohnnyBeGood JohnnyBeGood is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dwalin View Post
Hi,

your root / is 100% full. You need to free some space in /

you have 844G free in /home, but that is a different partition.

For example: Your webfiles should stay under /var/www and this is on the partitions which are full:

rootfs 20G 19G 0 100% /
/dev/root 20G 19G 0 100% /
Thanks for the prompt reply!

When I was installing Ubuntu using my hosts web interface I did not change anything and everything was left at default. When installing ISPconfig again I followed the directions. At which point did I made a mistake?
How do I get out of this mess?
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th October 2013, 16:15
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 146
Thanks: 10
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

When you format the partition - make sure that you create /var with that space, not the /home partition.

OR create a LVM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th October 2013, 21:44
JohnnyBeGood JohnnyBeGood is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdare View Post
When you format the partition - make sure that you create /var with that space, not the /home partition.

OR create a LVM.
Just got word from the host that they can't help with software issues becuase they only are only reponsible for hardware and network.

I've installed gParted and I can't think of way how to resize that partition.
Can someone please explain what steps I need to take since I have ISPconfig and don't want to corrupt that. I'm willing to pay for the help needed in order to do it right. While back I found my self locked out and had to re-install. I'm trying to avoid that this time.

Below is my current /etc/fstab

Code:
# <file system>	<mount point>	<type>	<options>	<dump>	<pass>
/dev/md1	/	ext4	errors=remount-ro,relatime,usrjquota=quota.user,grpjquota=quota.group,jqfmt=vfsv0	0	1
/dev/md3	/home	ext4	defaults,relatime	1	2
/dev/sda2	swap	swap	defaults	0	0
/dev/sdb2	swap	swap	defaults	0	0
proc		/proc	proc	defaults		0	0
sysfs		/sys	sysfs	defaults		0	0
devtmpfs	/dev	devtmpfs	rw	0	0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/mydomain1.com /var/www/clients/client1/web2/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/mydomain2.com /var/www/clients/client1/web3/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/var/log/ispconfig/httpd/mydomain3.com /var/www/clients/client1/web4/log    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th October 2013, 06:25
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 146
Thanks: 10
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

First make a backup of /var and /etc content because are the most important from file system, in case of a screw-up. Then with gParted just decrease the amount of capacity of /home partition, and increase the / partition.

Last edited by Ghostdare; 9th October 2013 at 06:29. Reason: wronk direction
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 9th October 2013, 07:39
JohnnyBeGood JohnnyBeGood is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdare View Post
First make a backup of /var and /etc content because are the most important from file system, in case of a screw-up. Then with gParted just decrease the amount of capacity of /home partition, and increase the / partition.
Can I just copy/paste in Ubuntu or do I need to use command line with special switches in order to copy hidden files?

I've played with resizing in GParted but obviously without hitting apply at the end and when I shrink /home (currently shows as 888GB free) to half (400GB) and when I try to increase size of / I can't it won't let me go past 20GB
I took this video that shows it.

Thank you for your patience!

Last edited by JohnnyBeGood; 9th October 2013 at 07:39. Reason: typo fix
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th October 2013, 12:48
Ghostdare Ghostdare is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Europe - Romania - Bucharest
Posts: 146
Thanks: 10
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I'm afraid to say that is more complicated that I initially though, and is much complicated to explain.

My recommendation is to reinstall the OS. At the partition step make sure that you choose LVM.

IF there is someone else who has a better idea, please give a feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 9th October 2013, 14:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,792
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,338 Times in 4,188 Posts
Default

There is one other option to relocate the web and mail space by using bind mounts:

1) Stop apache, postfic and dovecot.

2) Then execute these commands:

mv /var/vmail /home/
mv /var/www /home/

mkdir /var/vmail
chown vmail:vmail /var/vmail

mkdir /var/www

then edit the file /etc/fstab and add these lines:

Code:
/home/vmail /var/vmail    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
/home/www /var/www    none    bind,nobootwait    0 0
then run:

mount -a

and start apache, postfix and dovecot again.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
JohnnyBeGood (10th October 2013)
  #10  
Old 10th October 2013, 07:15
JohnnyBeGood JohnnyBeGood is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 40
Thanks: 8
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ghostdare View Post
I'm afraid to say that is more complicated that I initially though, and is much complicated to explain.

My recommendation is to reinstall the OS. At the partition step make sure that you choose LVM.

IF there is someone else who has a better idea, please give a feedback.
When using hosts install template I do not have option for LVM
Here's how it looks http://i.imgur.com/mGi4td2.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High on Lenny - Lvm Mount Problem Serverman Technical 1 23rd June 2009 16:26
proFTPd passive mode problems bisbell Server Operation 8 6th August 2008 21:12
Question about Virtual Hosting With Proftpd And MySQL (Incl. Quota) On Debian Etch ikkem HOWTO-Related Questions 30 26th February 2008 19:38
ISPConfig Installation error linuxuser1 Installation/Configuration 4 26th February 2008 06:38
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! qvindesland Installation/Configuration 22 21st May 2007 16:05


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.