Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th May 2009, 18:49
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default multi network 1 nic f10+isp3 question

setup: perfect server fedora 10+isp3 , x86_64, 1 NIC

what I'm trying to do is have the 1 NIC handle multiple incoing ip addresses but from different networks (all coming in through a switch obvisously).
so...

ip1: 192.168.1.5
gateway1 : 192.168.1.1
dns = x.x.x.x

ip2: 192.168.2.5
gateywa: 192.168.2.1
dns = x.x.x.x

1st question: can this be done and if so do I just setup secondary addresses as if I were adding on the same network??


more question will come from this regarding dns and domain routing but I'll save that for the isp3 forum.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th May 2009, 19:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Yes, you can do that. You can set up a virtual ethernet card, for example as shown in chapter 5 on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-2-p3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th May 2009, 19:35
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
 
Default

thats what I thouht, just wasn't sure about rhe different subnets. So it worked great. Now the fun part, running ispconfig 3, some of my domains are coming from 192.168.x.x and the others I want from 192.168.y.y. (meaning the outgointg traffic on the correct interface).

So I assume I'll need to setup routes otherwise all traffic will always go out the primary interface.

any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dual nic config question agchenry Installation/Configuration 7 26th April 2009 14:34
I have some problems when I configure my Network card in SuSe 11 ISP3 Joel_ngsoft Installation/Configuration 1 7th April 2009 16:44
Newbie Question - how to access websites in local network jewei General 1 11th December 2006 10:33
Perfect Xen 3.0 setup for Debian gurneyzap HOWTO-Related Questions 4 26th March 2006 11:30
Network interfaces question sulfuric Installation/Configuration 1 31st January 2006 01:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.