Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st May 2009, 12:12
Stokesy Stokesy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default is it ok to install ISPConfig on an existing config?

Hi, I have a debian 5.0.1 server with apache2 which has about 10 vhosts installed (these are mainly in a httpd.conf file that I hacked from my previous server which was apache 1.3) - so slightly non-standard for apache2...

It currently has webmin installed, but I would like to use ISPconfig, because I have previously used (and in fact still do on one server) 42goisp, and have found Falko & co's software to be great & their support to be invaluable - a really wonderful asset to the linux community (Thank-you)...

But I would like to know if I can just install ISPConfig, or will there be any issues I would need to sort out first?

Cheers, Andy
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st May 2009, 12:27
trexen trexen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 169
Thanks: 15
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Thumbs up Clean installation

Hi,
i sugest you do a clean installation.
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...nny-ispconfig2
and all gona be fine =) cheers

//Marcus
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st May 2009, 12:31
Stokesy Stokesy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hmm - I don't really have that option since it is live and I can't afford the down-time...
Although I know from experience how good Falko's installation guides can be....

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st May 2009, 12:53
Stokesy Stokesy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have run through the guide and have most of that stuff installed (not gonna use squirrelmail, dovecot etc at the mo, but have postfix installed) - don't have apache2_suexec (but am not gonna use it), ruby or python (ditto) or proftp installed...

I guess my question is more to do with if the current apache vhosts config will break...

Thanks, Andy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd May 2009, 20:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

The current vhosts should continue to work, but you will not be able to manage them from inside ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th May 2009, 14:26
Stokesy Stokesy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks Falko,

Is there any reason why I shouldnt install ISP config, then recreate the vhosts within it? could then delete the httpd.conf entries manually and restart apache?

I guess I would need to make sure I backed up the websites since I guess ISP Config recreates the website directories? (these are currently in /var/www)...

Thanks again for your help over the years - I hope you are getting lots of money!

Andy
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th May 2009, 14:47
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,003
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,376 Times in 4,223 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is there any reason why I shouldnt install ISP config, then recreate the vhosts within it? could then delete the httpd.conf entries manually and restart apache?
Most likely your setup will not work when you start from a unclean system. The fastest way is to start with a clean system as you might spend ours otherwise to chase down problems and incompatibilitys in your current setup.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th May 2009, 17:48
Stokesy Stokesy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thank You Till - sorry I did not also thank-you previously - your information & help has been invaluable to me in the past.

I may have a try anyway and see what breaks!

Cheers, Andy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Install a Comodo InstantSSL Certificate for ISPconfig Apache, Postfix, Imap & Pop gwa7 Installation/Configuration 0 10th April 2009 04:54
Reinstall of postfix, need config of ISPConfig jake Installation/Configuration 11 24th September 2008 08:43
ISPConfig install failure grimmers Installation/Configuration 20 26th July 2006 13:44
Install ISPConfig on CentOS Server, in brief gfts Tips/Tricks/Mods 11 4th April 2006 08:29
Problem with the apache (I can't start ist) M.Behrens Installation/Configuration 11 31st March 2006 10:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.