#1  
Old 1st May 2009, 08:10
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS zone transfer

I would like to allow zone transfer to a backup DNS server which is hosted by EditDNS. The IPSConfig box is currently now acting as the master and accepting DNS request from outside.

What else do I need to do besides adding the IP's "slave domain" where it says:
Allow zone transfers to these IPs (comma separated list) under the DNS tab for my zone?

For some reason it's not working. Are there any logs that I can look to see if the request being made from EditDNS? Do I need to modify any config files?

Last edited by binaryrogue; 1st May 2009 at 19:27.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd May 2009, 20:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Can you post your /etc/mydns.conf file?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th May 2009, 05:16
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

## AUTOMATICALLY GENERATED BY DEBCONF. DO NOT MODIFY DATABASE
## INFORMATION (database, db-*)...
## PLEASE RUN 'dpkg-reconfigure mydns-mysql' INSTEAD.
## CHANGES TO THE FOLLOWING DIRECTIVES ARE NOT PRESERVED, BUT REPLACED,
## ON UPGRADE:
## user, group, pidfile, db-*, database

##
## /etc/mydns.conf
## Thu Aug 2 16:36:26 2007
## For more information, see mydns.conf(5).
##


# DATABASE INFORMATION

db-host = localhost # SQL server hostname
db-user = ispconfig # SQL server username
db-password = xxxx # SQL server password
database = dbispconfig # MyDNS database name


# GENERAL OPTIONS

user = nobody # Run with the permissions of this user
group = nogroup # Run with the permissions of this group
listen = * # Listen on these addresses ('*' for all)
no-listen = # Do not listen on these addresses


# CACHE OPTIONS

zone-cache-size = 2048 # Maximum number of elements stored in the zone cache
zone-cache-expire = 60 # Number of seconds after which cached zones expires
reply-cache-size = 2048 # Maximum number of elements stored in the reply cache
reply-cache-expire = 30 # Number of seconds after which cached replies expire


# ESOTERICA

log = LOG_DAEMON # Facility to use for program output (LOG_*/stdout/stderr)
pidfile = /var/run/mydns.pid # Path to PID file
timeout = 120 # Number of seconds after which queries time out
multicpu = 1 # Number of CPUs installed on your system
recursive = 68.87.78.130 # Location of recursive resolver
allow-axfr = yes # Should AXFR be enabled?
allow-tcp = yes # Should TCP be enabled?
allow-update = no # Should DNS UPDATE be enabled?
ignore-minimum = no # Ignore minimum TTL for zone?
soa-table = dns_soa # Name of table containing SOA records
rr-table = dns_rr # Name of table containing RR data
soa-where = server_id = 2 # Extra WHERE clause for SOA queries
rr-where = server_id = 2 # Extra WHERE clause for RR queries
use-soa-active = yes # To fix bug 295 where active or inactive status is ignored.
use-rr-active = yes# To fix bug 295 where active or inactive status is ignored.

Last edited by falko; 4th May 2009 at 11:45. Reason: removed MYSQL password
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th May 2009, 11:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
allow-axfr = yes # Should AXFR be enabled?
That looks ok.
Please make sure that port 53 (TCP and UDP) is open in your firewall.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th May 2009, 18:42
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Those DNS ports are defenitley open from the firewall. It must be EditDNS issue then. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th May 2009, 19:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

In the MyDNS database, you can specify the slave server IP that will be allowed to connect to the master. You can try to add the IP of the slave there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th May 2009, 21:26
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm looking inside the dbispconfig database and can't figure where to input the slave IP's.
*update - I see where it's located now which is under the dns_soa table. I do see the same IP's that I put in from the web interface.

I just got a responds from EditDNS stating that my nameserver is refusing axfr (tcp 53) connections:
These ports are open, else my websites would not be accessible. I also ran a port scanner from outside and port 53/tcp and udp are open.

Question - Under the DNS zones, do I need to manually add EditDNS nameservers as well?

Last edited by binaryrogue; 5th May 2009 at 21:32.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th May 2009, 01:56
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also tried to run this command from the server itself and it's failing.

Code:
[root@ispconfig3 ~]# dig @10.0.0.7 mydomain.com axfr

; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P2-RedHat-9.5.1-2.P2.fc10 <<>> @10.0.0.7 mydomain.com axfr
; (1 server found)
;; global options:  printcmd
; Transfer failed.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th May 2009, 19:17
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,507
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,266 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

The slave IP's have to be entered directly into the field "Allow zone transfers to
these IPs (comma separated list)" in the ispconfig interface that is in the dns zone form. No need to edit anything in the database.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th May 2009, 19:28
binaryrogue binaryrogue is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 89
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Are there any logs for me to look at to see what's going on? It's just not working..

btw: I have two servers doing replication. The 2nd server acts only as my DNS.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 12:30
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Zone Transfer not complete. joelee HOWTO-Related Questions 3 19th August 2007 14:55
Zone Transfer trouble. vbrookie Installation/Configuration 18 2nd June 2007 20:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.