Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st August 2005, 14:12
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Angry This is %#@*&^$# embarrassing!

I ran a whois on all my 10 TLD's and this is what I got:

Blacklist Status: Listed - Cached Today

Now I know it wasn't my fault. My ISP was placed on the Blacklist . Looks like there's no way around this problem. Damn, no business sites until I get a dediacted IP and not in the same ISP.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st August 2005, 15:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,414
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,204 Times in 4,080 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
I ran a whois on all my 10 TLD's and this is what I got:

Blacklist Status: Listed - Cached Today

Now I know it wasn't my fault. My ISP was placed on the Blacklist . Looks like there's no way around this problem. Damn, no business sites until I get a dediacted IP and not in the same ISP.
Thats very bad!

Did only your dynamic IP got blacklisted or the mailserver of your ISP too? If it is only your dynamic IP, have you tried to configure postfix to route all outgoing mail trough the mailserver of your ISP?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st August 2005, 17:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

You could contact the blacklist maintainers and ask them to take you off the blacklist.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st August 2005, 17:58
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Well, I don't know how the blacklist proccess is. But ALL my domains are listed as blacklist. So I think my ISP's whole IP thing has been blacklisted. I ran a relay test on this server and there was no problem and my server does not relay.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st August 2005, 18:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Where are they listed? On which blacklist?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21st August 2005, 19:20
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

When I run the queries on whois.sc, this is exactly what is outputted:


Date Data: 2005-08-21
Source: DNSBL.SORBS.NET
Answer: 127.0.0.* DUL
Information: http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml

It is against our policy to use any automation on our site, even though you have silver access. You may not run robots against our site. Any such use will be grounds for termination.

Last edited by domino; 21st August 2005 at 19:23.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21st August 2005, 19:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,414
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,204 Times in 4,080 Posts
Default

Maybe you find here an answer:

http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/overview.shtml
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22nd August 2005, 03:04
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Tanks for pointing till. This is the only reason why my IP would be listed.

Dynamic User/Host List Database (DUHL)

Listing is performed manually after contact from netizens or ISPs indicating dynamically assigned space, or whenever SORBS admins notice the same, for example by receiving spam from such an address range.

Note: This list should not list static address space, not even dialups. This is for any dynamically assigned space regardless of the method of connecting them to the Internet.

And if this is the case, while the IP is listed in the blacklist db, mail might not arrive to it's destination because some email servers use sorbs.net blacklist db? I can't contact and complain to my ISP since I am on a residential account and not allowed to run any type of server . I guess i'll have to live with this until I upgrade. Which is another 4 months to the end of my contract.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to domino For This Useful Post:
feeninuoumn (31st December 2013)
  #9  
Old 22nd August 2005, 10:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

From http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/faq/:

Quote:
25: I'm blocked.... How do I send mail to the admins of SORBS..?

You can use the mail sending form provided for those blocked. Please remember that you have to use a real email address, as mails with phoney addresses will be ignored.

NOTE: Removal requests for the Proxy databases will be ignored. See: the Retest FAQ. If you have problems obtaining a key or other problems with retester, please feel free to mail.
Their mail sending form is here: http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/mail
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 22nd August 2005, 10:12
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Their mail sending form is here: http://www.dnsbl.us.sorbs.net/cgi-bin/mail
I'm afraid that will be a losing battle, but i'll try. My IP changes at least every 2 days. Another thing to consider is that other scums/clients with my ISP do spam, adding the block to be blacklisted again. Correct me if i'm wrong, but I think the only solution is to purchase a dedicated IP. So if it happens again, I can email them with the static IP.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.