Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th April 2009, 19:26
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default upgrading ubuntu on new hardware

hello all im after some advice ,i have ubuntu hardy i386 running on amd hardware 2x 200gb sata drives software raid1 and lvm ,i have built a new intel quad core system with 2 x 500gb sata drives .i want to move the data to the other system then upgrade to intrepid .what would be the best way to achieve this ? can it be done by just cloning the drives ?what other options do i have ? .thanks for any help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th April 2009, 14:20
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You could copy over the data using netcat. See chapter 3 on http://www.howtoforge.com/useful-uses-of-netcat

Regarding the upgrade, take a look at http://www.howtoforge.com/how-to-upg...top-and-server
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th April 2009, 15:52
ubutux ubutux is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Perth , Western Australia
Posts: 48
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

thanks falko
is netcat the method you prefer? ,i have previously only used ghost to copy drives but with my current system using software raid 1 i thought ghost may not be an option .to other users what are your preferences to complete what im trying to do .the upgrade to intrepid should be no problem i hope the only issue i can see with the upgrade is going from an amd x2 processor to an intel quad core cpu ,another question is it possible to upgrade hardy 32 to intrepid 64? thanks for any help and advice .
Darren
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th April 2009, 19:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ubutux View Post
thanks falko
is netcat the method you prefer?
That's how I'd do it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubutux View Post
is it possible to upgrade hardy 32 to intrepid 64?
No.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unbale to login to Postfix from webmail wasimriz HOWTO-Related Questions 5 6th April 2009 14:49
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 03:01
ISPconfig on Ubuntu: Upgrading Breezy to Dapper Clogboy General 6 22nd February 2007 22:32
Log for Debugging jwan Installation/Configuration 5 27th October 2006 15:34
Upgrading system - Ubuntu 5.10/ISPConfig 2.2.0 Brenton Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2006 23:19


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.