Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd April 2009, 23:09
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default sites no longer resolving

All of a sudden I've noticed a couple sites that I have set up in ispconfig3 are no longer resolving. My main domain that I used to set up is resolving, but none of the other sites. To be honest, I'm not quite sure where to look for the appropriate logs. I don't see anything referencing mydns in /var/log

The strange thing is, the domains resolve when I check from the VPS, but don't resolve checking from home or anywhere else.

Last edited by jcombs_31; 24th April 2009 at 00:33.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th April 2009, 10:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,457
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,228 Times in 4,098 Posts
Default

Then you should check if the correct nameservers are set at the domain registry.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th April 2009, 13:44
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

They are, these sites have been running fine for a few months now. All of a sudden I can't resolve them. Stranger yet, I had someone in another location check and they were able to resolve the domains. All of a sudden I'm also blocked out of ssh. My control panel is still running and my other sites are too, I just checked from work and I can see them and resolve them.

Its like my home computer(IP) has been blacklisted.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th April 2009, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Are you using fail2ban, Blockhosts or DenyHosts on the server? If you have made too many failed login attempts, then you probably got blocked by these tools.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th April 2009, 15:51
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Are you using fail2ban, Blockhosts or DenyHosts on the server? If you have made too many failed login attempts, then you probably got blocked by these tools.
Yes, but I don't recall ever failing a login attempt. The million dollar question is, if that is the case, how does one regain access to a remote system that has blocked you?

I'm working with the host support, they said they cleared /etc/hosts.deny, but I'm still getting a refused connection.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th April 2009, 16:19
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

The support told me they cleared the hosts.deny, but clearly they did not. I had someone login for me and clear out my IP address. What scares me though is why this happened to begin with. I had both fail2ban and denyhosts installed, should I only use 1 or the other?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th April 2009, 21:50
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

I'm still unable to resolve from my home IP address. I can login to the control panel but can't resolve my other sites. They resolved fine from work and I've had a few other people check with no problems.

Is there any other setting that could block access to DNS for this IP?

edit: looks like might have been my router or atts dns. I added another entry and was able to resolve.

Last edited by jcombs_31; 24th April 2009 at 22:23.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th April 2009, 11:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcombs_31 View Post
I had both fail2ban and denyhosts installed, should I only use 1 or the other?
Yes, just use one.
If you're using fail2ban, you're probably being blocked by iptables, not /etc/hosts.deny.

http://debianclusters.cs.uni.edu/ind...rute_Force_SSH
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th April 2009, 20:36
jcombs_31 jcombs_31 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South Florida
Posts: 83
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Default

No, it was definitely in hosts.deny. Do you have a recommendation on which to use?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th April 2009, 13:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
 
Default

Denyhosts can just secure SSH, while fail2ban can protect also other services. If you just want to protect SSH, then it doesn't matter which one you use - they both do the same great job.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New domains no longer resolving tmill1203 General 1 31st July 2008 00:12
Help - virtual sites - email not working - what FQDN? sagor Installation/Configuration 4 26th April 2008 19:00
Sites are no longer adding spuppy General 9 28th September 2007 18:25
ISPConfig unsual behavior! cybereatl Installation/Configuration 25 28th February 2007 13:48
all sites are getting "Index of /" page instead of the domain directory jagnag1 Installation/Configuration 3 17th December 2006 12:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.