Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st April 2009, 16:23
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default Getting an ISPConfig server to resolve domains for the DNS Newbie!

Hi! I'm old hat to Linux on multiple distros, but a bit of a newbie to DNS issues.

I am just getting started with a new dedicated server with a fresh install of Fedora 10. I am going to manage my domains with ISPConfig 2.

I've managed to get everything working, but now comes the task of changing my domain registrations to start resolving on the new server.

THE SETUP
My domains are at GoDaddy
My dedicated server is with a company called Silicone Valley Web Hosting

FIRST STEPS
1. I added ns1 and ns2 to one of my domains at Godaddy to point to the ip address of my dedicated server and so now I have
ns1.mydomain.com pointing to my dedicated server
ns2.mydomain.com pointing to my dedicated server
2. I then used these name servers above to start configuring my domain names.

On my ISPConfig setup the DNS entry section has the fully qualified domain (myserver.svwh.net) name in the boxes for ns1 and ns2

It has been 2 days since I updated the nameservers on one of my domains at GoDaddy and it is not resolving corrrectly.

Trying to figure out what I did wrong. Or not ?

I have found multiple articles on the internet on how to use GoDaddy for your domains and then your own server with ISPConfig, but they seem to be old articles that use the old GoDaddy DNS Manager as examples.

Thanks!

Last edited by dpicella; 21st April 2009 at 16:26.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd April 2009, 14:57
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Did you check your domains with http://www.intodns.com/ ?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
dpicella (23rd April 2009)
  #3  
Old 22nd April 2009, 15:59
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Yes, I did. There are errors. I also have some new information.

Here is the intodns link to the domain I would like resolve on my ISPConfig 2 server.

http://www.intodns.com/majella.us

Since I am a newbie to DNS, it would be great to understand what is happening with Parent, NS, SOA, MX, and WWW

NEW INFORMATION

My webhosting company gave me a link to the nameservers to use:

http://www.svwh.net/network_information.php

I changed the domain 'majella.us' nameservers yesterday to:

ns1.svwh.net
ns2.svwh.net
ns3.svwh.net

The fully qualified domain name for my server at SVWH is: ss0609.svwh.net

In my ISPConfig 2 DNS setup on my server, I set NS1 and NS2 to ss0609.svwh.net ... I think that is where my problem is. I don't know anything about setting up A records and so forth.

Again, I know a lot about linux and different distros. I had no trouble getting my Fedora 10 up and running with ISPConfig 2. Just don't know how to configure things from here to get my domain names resolving.

Thanks!

Last edited by dpicella; 22nd April 2009 at 16:00. Reason: Incorrect link posted.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd April 2009, 16:38
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default The answer to ISP Config for the DNS Newbie using Godaddy domains

I think this may have the answer. I looked at it a few times before, but I didn't follow all the directions since it is old as Godaddy has completely revised their DNS management software since this article was written.

http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2nd May 2009, 15:40
dpicella dpicella is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 116
Thanks: 9
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
 
Default Getting ISP Config 3 to Resolve Websites - Problem Solved

I didn't understand A and MX DNS entries, but I do now.

If you are renting a server like me and your hosting company gives you a box at an address something like:

youraccount.yourhostingcompany.net

And your hosting company says the name servers are

ns1.yourhostingcompany.net
ns2.yourhostingcompany.net

Then you will have to let the hosting company know what IP address (that you purchased from them and that are bound to the ethernet hardware on your box) that you want each your domains to resolve on.

For example, I simply opened a support ticket giving them a list of domain names and IP address and they added these to the appropriate A and MX records at their nameservers. Now all is well!

Make sense! ?

It didn't make sense to me at first because I thought I was supposed to create my own nameserver MX and A records or have them at GoDaddy but that is not the way it works in this scenario.

Once you are done with that ... then just point the GoDaddy domains to the nameservers of your web hosting service and everything should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Various problems, ISPConfig sites not seen from internet, DNS server, Mail server. mcardo Installation/Configuration 3 17th October 2008 14:20
dynamic dns server on ISPConfig Zingaro2002 General 5 9th August 2008 11:27
The Perfect Setup - Debian Etch (Debian 4.0) some trouble daniel80 HOWTO-Related Questions 26 1st February 2008 16:30
Dns question Mahir Installation/Configuration 48 14th November 2006 10:19
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.