Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 21st April 2009, 10:16
Cracklefish Cracklefish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 95
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Apache not displaying multiple sites.

This is a install on a virgin machine running Opensuse 11.1 using the latest Perfect Server script.

With the first site installed its home page displays.

When site 2 is installed it still shows site 1s home page.

The contents of sites-available and sites-enabled look normal all the docroot, servername and directory statements are correct.

On restarting Apache I get a "[warn] Default_VirtualHost overlap on port 80, the first has precedence"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 21st April 2009, 19:32
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you access the sites by domain name and not by IP address and that these domain names are correctly registered in dns and point to the IP of your server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st April 2009, 19:56
Cracklefish Cracklefish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 95
Thanks: 8
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

Yes I am using domain names. The DNS settings are all correct.

I have just discovered that if I put a "NameVirtualHost *:80" statement in default-server.conf the error message goes away and I can then access site 1 and site 2. I cannot access the host server index page, that still returns site 1s home page. I haven't had time today to add any other sites.

Using the server ip I would expect to see the host index page if ispconfig was not present.

If that is correct behaviour than it is no big deal but how do I identify site 1. Is it by lowest ClientID, WebID, alphabetical URL name or what?.

The main site is www.example.tld and the server is host.example.tld. There are (should be!) a dozen or so other hosted sites of lower priority (they don't pay much rent)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ispconfig3 Multiple Sites (Domains) in one Server dcarlos General 29 11th September 2009 21:59
ISPCONFIG 3 - Multiple Sites on the same IP? astewart Developers' Forum 3 28th October 2008 15:32
CENTOS 5 Ping Problem gAnDo Server Operation 11 28th March 2008 20:58
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 15:47
Problem with the installation of Dokeos (LMS) in ISPConfig jofranco General 4 28th April 2006 00:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.