#1  
Old 13th April 2009, 23:58
ehpmail ehpmail is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Own hosting setup

I have a single computer with a Linksys 3G Router (model WRTG3G). I want to (and I know it is all kinds of incorrect) do the following:
  1. Have IPSCONFIG3 (already installed)
  2. Have my own nameserver
  3. Have my own secondary nameserver
  4. Have groupware installed - I want CITADEL
  5. Have a local domain
  6. Have LDAP installed

Is this possible?
What are the steps?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2009, 10:43
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,389
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,486 Times in 4,318 Posts
Default

1,6) This etup does not make much sense. For example, ispconfig 3 uses mysql to store user autentication information, why do you wnat to run ldap then as it is not compatible with this setup.
2,3) For your own dns server you need at least two independant external IP's, it is even recommended that you have two independant physical servers for your nameservers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th April 2009, 11:22
ehpmail ehpmail is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I want LDAP for my local domain. I plan to have other users log on, use groupware, a shared proxy server, etc. I am happy with ISPCONFIG 3 using the database for client authentication. I hope that I am understanding this correctly!

If I had 2 independent computers for nameservers, but a single router to connect to the internet, how do I use the 2 external IP's? Would these be configured on the router?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th April 2009, 16:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

Does your router support more than one public IP? Most routers don't, and I don't think the WRT3G is an exception.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
ehpmail (15th April 2009)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
Spamassassin not working hairydog2 General 7 12th July 2008 21:15
How to setup a server for web hosting: will pay... Crazy Server Operation 4 24th June 2007 11:12
The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4 for hosting use Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 9 22nd March 2007 18:25
Debian perfect setup network problem reddogg Installation/Configuration 2 18th January 2006 22:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.