Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th April 2009, 11:48
Thomas Jensen Thomas Jensen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default pure-ftpd "connection reset"

Hi!

I've just setup ISPconfig 3. Everything is reporting correct, and pure-FTPd is running and listening.
But; When i connect ( no matter which client program ), i get the "connection reset" error.

/var/log/messages
Apr 8 11:30:01 server1 pure-ftpd: (?@localhost.localdomain) [INFO] New connection from localhost.localdomain
Apr 8 11:30:01 server1 pure-ftpd: (?@localhost.localdomain) [INFO] Logout.


Thanks.

Last edited by Thomas Jensen; 8th April 2009 at 11:48. Reason: Missing log information
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 9th April 2009, 09:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

These message are not from your logins, they are from the ispconfig status monitor which checks if your ftp daemon is running.

1) is the ispconfig firewall enabled?
2) Please post the output of:

iptables -L
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th April 2009, 11:51
Thomas Jensen Thomas Jensen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

1) I think, i don't know how to check, but i can add firewall records in ISPconfig.

2)

Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
fail2ban-ssh tcp -- anywhere anywhere multiport dports ssh

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain fail2ban-ssh (1 references)
target prot opt source destination
RETURN all -- anywhere anywhere
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th April 2009, 14:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Ok, the firewall is off. Did you try both active and passive transfers in your FTP client? What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th April 2009, 23:19
Thomas Jensen Thomas Jensen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I tried both passive and active, but now i've found out that it might be a local problem. It's only a problem from my home network. The weird thing is that it's the only server i have problems with.

netstat -tap:

Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdo:10025 *:* LISTEN 22152/master
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 23540/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1987/portmap
tcp 0 0 *:webmin *:* LISTEN 2982/perl
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdoma:947 *:* LISTEN 2891/famd
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 18935/pure-ftpd (SE
tcp 0 0 server1.clankamp:domain *:* LISTEN 24448/mydns
tcp 0 0 localhost.locald:domain *:* LISTEN 24448/mydns
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 22333/sshd
tcp 0 0 *:telnet *:* LISTEN 22401/inetd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 22152/master
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdom:smtp localhost.localdo:54771 SYN_RECV -
tcp 1 0 localhost.localdom:smtp localhost.localdo:40675 CLOSE_WAIT -
tcp 1 0 localhost.localdom:smtp localhost.localdo:40675 CLOSE_WAIT -

... repeated many times...

tcp6 0 0 [::]:imaps [::]:* LISTEN 24361/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]op3s [::]:* LISTEN 24389/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]op3 [::]:* LISTEN 24372/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:imap2 [::]:* LISTEN 24344/couriertcpd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:http-alt [::]:* LISTEN 15105/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:www [::]:* LISTEN 15105/apache2
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ftp [::]:* LISTEN 18935/pure-ftpd (SE
tcp6 0 0 ip6-localhost:domain [::]:* LISTEN 24448/mydns
tcp6 0 0 [::]:ssh [::]:* LISTEN 22333/sshd
tcp6 0 0 [::]:https [::]:* LISTEN 15105/apache2
tcp6 0 0 server1.clankamp.:imap2 0x4dd5e135.adsl.c:29475 ESTABLISHED 30105/imapd
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2009, 20:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Do you maybe have a personal firewall on your client computer?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th April 2009, 21:10
Thomas Jensen Thomas Jensen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Tried on several computers, with no result. also tried with a different router.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th April 2009, 14:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

When you connect from the local network, do you use the server's local IP address, or its public hostname or public IP?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th April 2009, 21:38
Thomas Jensen Thomas Jensen is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 127
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Tried both public hostname and public IP
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th April 2009, 17:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

Ok, then I guess that your router somehow doesn't support loopbacks.

Does it work when you use the local IP?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
connection reset, ftp, pure-ftpd

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pure domain DNS doesn't work SyRenity Installation/Configuration 7 12th December 2006 12:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.