Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th March 2006, 09:47
jackaltx jackaltx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Fedora Core 2 - DNS Not updating

I have the laters vers 2.2.0 installon a Fedora Core 2 box

THe DNS does not seem be be updating. THe bind is chrorrted

I tried to change the /etc/bind to /var/named/chroot/var/named but it would not change in the setup area. So I put a symbolic link in and made sure the I was 777'd from the /var/named/chroot down to the directory.

The Sendmail and Apache stuff looks good.

Suggestions please? How do I look at the error messages? Nothing is showing up in the /var/log/message or in /root/ispconfig/httpd/logs. I am not sure what even would cause it to try to write the DNS out again.


my comments so far are perhaps make you links in the "/home/www" betwween your internal key and the site name relative links. that would allow simpler transport.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2006, 09:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,421
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackaltx
I have the laters vers 2.2.0 installon a Fedora Core 2 box

THe DNS does not seem be be updating. THe bind is chrorrted

I tried to change the /etc/bind to /var/named/chroot/var/named but it would not change in the setup area. So I put a symbolic link in and made sure the I was 777'd from the /var/named/chroot down to the directory.

The Sendmail and Apache stuff looks good.

Suggestions please? How do I look at the error messages? Nothing is showing up in the /var/log/message or in /root/ispconfig/httpd/logs. I am not sure what even would cause it to try to write the DNS out again.
The logfile you are searching for is /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/ispconfig.log

Did you got any errors during installation or do you modify the ispconfig database manually. The error you describe appears when the setup did not finish completely and the setup values where not written to the database correctly.

Quote:
my comments so far are perhaps make you links in the "/home/www" betwween your internal key and the site name relative links. that would allow simpler transport.
Thats exactly what ISPConfig is doing.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th March 2006, 10:39
jackaltx jackaltx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks for the quck reply

hmm...no log file there

root@daddy lib]# pwd
/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib
[root@daddy lib]# ls
app.inc.php banner.inc.php classes config.inc.php copyright.inc.php go_info.inc.php help index.php lang plugins preload.inc.php session.inc.php
[root@daddy lib]#

No I have not edited this one by hand. I did a test install on a RC4 and tried to get familiar with it before this.

as for the links....this one appears to be absolute.

[root@daddy lib]# ls -l /home/www
total 80
lrwxrwxrwx 1 apache web7 14 Mar 27 01:23 forums.g2interactive.com -> /home/www/web7
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 Mar 27 00:30 localhost

I would appreciate any help. I have not edited any of the configuration files. I set some defaults in the isp_isp_user table .

I am sure I have cocked up something, Suggestions Please????
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th March 2006, 10:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,421
Thanks: 812
Thanked 5,205 Times in 4,081 Posts
Default

Sorry, the correct log path is: /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig.log
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th March 2006, 10:51
jackaltx jackaltx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default it is late here...i found that fle

grep WARN ispconfig/ispconfig.log
18.02.2006 - 18:18:48 => WARN - Cannot Open File: F:\server\www\ispconfig\install_ispconfig\ispconfi g/users
26.03.2006 - 23:47:15 => WARN - /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/classes/ispconfig_system.lib.php, Line 696: WARNING: could not /etc/rc.d/init.d/httpd restart &> /dev/null

The only thing I see is a bunch of "symbolic link failures", which does surprise me

and a few of these
27.03.2006 - 01:22:52 => INFO - Signalfile Set: insert
27.03.2006 - 01:23:08 => INFO - Signalfile Set: update
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th March 2006, 12:08
jackaltx jackaltx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ok .... got it and this will affect all users of a chrooted named

well, this was one of those experiences.....you know the ones you think you come away smater, but you are not sure.

first...you cannot use the webform to change that place were the dns stores the name files. Not sure why, but I had to edit it in the "isp_server" table.

Then after I changes one of the soa values in a record the files were generated...butttttttt named will not start the /etc/named.conf has absolute path variables in it and named is jailed ina chroot.

to make that work I did this

from the /root/ispconfig
find . -exec grep "/var/named" {} \; -print
directory "/var/named";
./isp/conf/named.conf.master

I edited that file (removeing the {BINDDIR} variable to

options {
pid-file "/var/run/named/named.pid";
directory "/var/named";
auth-nxdomain no;

and now I got named working

THe earlier issues with symbolic links are becuase webilizer ran and reduces logs for the domains I had on their just before I installed the software.

ALSO...those links are NOT being made relative by the program. It is probably not an issue for most people.

As I have given help...I sure could use a little tutoria on how to read/traverse these "tree" tables. They look really cool and I would like to see if they might be usefull in another effort.

Thanks
Jackal
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th March 2006, 13:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackaltx
I tried to change the /etc/bind to /var/named/chroot/var/named but it would not change in the setup area. So I put a symbolic link in and made sure the I was 777'd from the /var/named/chroot down to the directory.
I'm sure this is a permissions problem. The ISPConfig web interface uses PHP's realpath() function to validate the path you put in. The web interface runs as an unpriviledged user; if the directory/file you put in is readable only by root, then realpath() will return FALSE, and ISPConfig continues to use the old value.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30th March 2006, 07:50
jackaltx jackaltx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks!!!

You were absolutely correct.

the /var/named directory was 750.....put it to 755 and now the DNS is just as happy as can be and the field in the database updates correctly.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27th November 2006, 12:33
Blu Blu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default named.conf.master

Erm, can anyone post their copy of this... have deleted it by mistake trying to fix my FC5 DNS not updating issue
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28th November 2006, 00:27
Blu Blu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default named.conf.master

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blu
Erm, can anyone post their copy of this... have deleted it by mistake trying to fix my FC5 DNS not updating issue
Ok, fixed it guys ... updated ISP Config and it seems to have reappeared. Still having this DNS update issue tho .... it seems to create the httpd vhosts file, however, does not update the DNS records. Anyone got any ideas? ..... the permissions are changed to 755 in the chroot jail.

If it helps, my mysql database seems to be updating ok, just the DNS records are not writing. Can't find any clues in the /var/log/message file either - only a load of samba report messages.


Cheers.

Last edited by Blu; 28th November 2006 at 10:43.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora Core 5 - not updating DNS/web rajclark Installation/Configuration 8 27th March 2006 14:03
Fedora core 3 humph Installation/Configuration 1 3rd March 2006 09:36
Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 3 - saslauthd problem Median Installation/Configuration 28 29th January 2006 18:51
ISPCONFIG installation problem with Fedora Core 4 (64 bit) dchowdhu Installation/Configuration 5 25th January 2006 06:21
help on fedora core 4 horus9520 Installation/Configuration 2 18th November 2005 23:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.