Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th April 2009, 00:04
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
Default Need help ... so many things don't know where to start...

Hi everyone,

First of all wishes of a nice easter for all of you guys.

Since my english is not the very best sorry for any mistakes

I've been trying to install a server with a good control panel for almost one week and give up on many panels that are there on the net choosing ispconfig 3 on the end. However... there is always something to give me an headeck...

I follow the instructions on the Perfect server... Debian and almost done all with sucess, but ofcourse only almost... ...

For now I'm managing the DNS outside at the registrar and intend to move it to our facilities soon.

After several forum's readings I had everything working on web, ftp and emails and the only thing I detected was that internal I can access the configuration GUI 192.168.1.100:8080 but externaly I can't... I checked firewall on the server, firewall on the router and nat and everything is well done, so my first question is really how can I access it externaly?

The last question really wasn't a big issue for me since I have VNC connection to my network but another issues appear that I can't really solve...

This afternoon, due a failure on our UPS system the server reboot for the first time... After a while when I try to connect to it the ispconfig was not working!

I access the GUI xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 but it retrives an simple phrase after login showing "Error"!

Before I decide to post here I read some foruns and then it all seem easy, just go to /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start... I wish...!!!

I can't find the file ispconfig_server anywhere on the server! I tryed to netstat and I don't see it!

So my second question is really what the hell happen?

Still have another questions but this 2 are really the important ones... I really don't have to ask more questions if I can't get this ones solved

Sorry for anyting stupid I may said but forgive me 'cause I'm really a newbie on this

Hope someone can help me and thank you all in advance.

Cheers

Note: ISPCONFIG 3 on Debian 5 Lenny
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th April 2009, 11:10
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
After several forum's readings I had everything working on web, ftp and emails and the only thing I detected was that internal I can access the configuration GUI 192.168.1.100:8080 but externaly I can't... I checked firewall on the server, firewall on the router and nat and everything is well done, so my first question is really how can I access it externaly?
This is a problem in your router and not ispconfg. Just forward port 8080 from your router to the ip of the server.

Quote:
This afternoon, due a failure on our UPS system the server reboot for the first time... After a while when I try to connect to it the ispconfig was not working!

I access the GUI xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8080 but it retrives an simple phrase after login showing "Error"!

Before I decide to post here I read some foruns and then it all seem easy, just go to /etc/init.d/ispconfig_server start... I wish...!!!

I can't find the file ispconfig_server anywhere on the server! I tryed to netstat and I don't see it!

So my second question is really what the hell happen?
ISPConfig 3 has no server script. As long as you have started the apache webserver then the ispconfig 3 interface is accessible. If you get an error, please post the exact error message or better make a screenshot and post it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th April 2009, 17:57
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
Default Thanks but it is something else...

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
This is a problem in your router and not ispconfg. Just forward port 8080 from your router to the ip of the server.
It's not a router issue. It really doesn't connect from the outside. To make sure of what I'm telling you I did connect a digital video recorder on the 8080 port and changed the rule to the dvr IP instead of the server. Voila, it works the router is performing the port fowarding correctly.

Quote:
ISPConfig 3 has no server script. As long as you have started the apache webserver then the ispconfig 3 interface is accessible. If you get an error, please post the exact error message or better make a screenshot and post it.
Apache server is runing and listening on the correct ports, I can see the login page and fill the authentication boxs, simply, after auth the frame where the body should appear appears only the phrase ERROR, you can see the header , the body with the phrase ERROR and the footer.

Another thing that is happening too is that I can no longer authenticate on phpmyadmin too, not even with root.

Thanks for your anwsers but it is something else.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2009, 21:45
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
Default 50% solved

well, the first part that is accessing from outside was solved...

I installed webmin and I could see the virtual server for apache was not well configured by ispconfig, I've created a new on, this time on the 80 port and using the name resolution.

However still can't access ispconfig or phpmyadmin.

Please use anything on the password and the user and you'll see exactly what is happening

http://pal-213-228-166-73.netvisao.pt

http://pal-213-228-166-73.netvisao.pt/phpmyadmin

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th April 2009, 11:25
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

You can not use webmin and ispconfig on the same server and ispconfig is configuraing the vhost properly wehn you enter the correct data like any other tool. So either you uninstall webmin or ispconfig but both on the same server wont work.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2009, 11:37
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
Default sure but...

Sure, I'll understand that and only installed webmin to check somethings since I'm not a linuc expert.

I'll uninstall webmin but that will not solve my problem.

The error persists even before the webmin was installed and still the same. I can no longer enter ispconfig or phpmyadmin.

Did you try to enter the links I've posted?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th April 2009, 21:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

And the login is working from within your local network?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th April 2009, 18:10
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
Default

Hi Falko,

No the login on ispconfig and phpmyadmin stoped work on both networks, lan and wan side.

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th April 2009, 12:08
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Please make sure that you have started the webserver.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th April 2009, 12:16
carlosmcruz carlosmcruz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Portugal
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to carlosmcruz Send a message via Skype™ to carlosmcruz
 
Default

till,

of course the webserver is started and runing, otherwise the login page wasn't visible...

I'm going to give up on this and install another panel.

I only need to manage easly the emails, the vitual domains and have webmail. This one was great but I can no longer stay without this server working proprely.

Thanks anyway for your time.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Monit & Munin SamTzu HOWTO-Related Questions 2 23rd September 2014 23:20
Monit on Debian Hans Tips/Tricks/Mods 2 6th October 2008 14:53
packet loss Chad Server Operation 2 12th June 2008 15:13
"Too many open files in system" problems Berry Installation/Configuration 3 10th November 2007 22:58
dns server error Hellbound General 7 2nd August 2007 10:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.