Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th March 2009, 01:09
mangia mangia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Slave DNS server hangs during restart (Bind)

Hi

I have two DNS servers in master - slave configuration

When I restart master, everything is OK but slave server sometimes hangs.

Logs:

Code:
Mar  7 01:55:27 ns2 named[1712]: shutting down: flushing changes
Mar  7 01:55:27 ns2 named[1712]: stopping command channel on 127.0.0.1#953
Mar  7 01:55:27 ns2 named[1712]: stopping command channel on ::1#953
Mar  7 01:55:27 ns2 named[1712]: no longer listening on 127.0.0.1#53
Mar  7 01:55:27 ns2 named[1712]: no longer listening on 192.168.100.9#53
After that, bind doesn't work and I can see that it is still running and it does not respond to queries....

Code:
[root@ns2 ~]# ps ax|grep named
 1712 ?        Ssl    0:02 /usr/sbin/named -u named -t /var/named/chroot
 2488 pts/0    R+     0:00 grep named
[root@ns2 ~]#
Logs from master server are similar but after I stop bind I have a line

Code:
Mar  6 23:58:39 ns1 named[10781]: exiting
As you can see above, this line doesn't exist in slave server log

Commands pkill named, service named restart, service named stop,... doesn't help..... Only option is to force server restart... this is not a solution because server needs 5-10 min. to boot up again...

Centos, BIND is chrooted, v 9.3.4

Any ideas ?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th March 2009, 22:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
after you've tried to restart BIND? I guess there's still a BIND process running.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd December 2009, 11:07
mangia mangia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi... Sorry for digging out but the problem is still here

output of netstat -tap doesn't show named (or bind) as running... All I can see is http, mysql and few other services ...

Last edited by mangia; 23rd December 2009 at 11:12.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th December 2009, 15:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Can you post the full output?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th December 2009, 17:32
mangia mangia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I can't post output because I receive the next error

// ***************
1. You have included 12 images in your message. You are limited to using 4 images so please go back and correct the problem and then continue again.

Images include use of smilies, the BB code [img] tag and HTML <img> tags. The use of these is all subject to them being enabled by the administrator.

/ ****************

Of course, I didn't post any images

The only difference when BIND works and in the moment it doesn't work is the next few lines visible in the moment after reboot when everything works fine

tcp 0 0 localhost6.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomai:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 172.16.162.8:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 ns2.DOMAIN.COM:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th December 2009, 15:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mangia View Post
I can't post output because I receive the next error

// ***************
1. You have included 12 images in your message. You are limited to using 4 images so please go back and correct the problem and then continue again.

Images include use of smilies, the BB code [img] tag and HTML <img> tags. The use of these is all subject to them being enabled by the administrator.

/ ****************

Of course, I didn't post any images
You can use an SSH client such as PuTTY and copy&paste the output.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th December 2009, 16:27
mangia mangia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi

If you look my first post, you'll see that I'm able to use putty ...

Just like I said above, posting putty output in new post was followed by the error that I have to many images inside my post what is ridiculous.

Here is the difference when named works

Quote:
tcp 0 0 localhost6.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomain:rndc *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 localhost.localdomai:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 172.16.162.8:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
tcp 0 0 ns2.DOMAIN.COM:domain *:* LISTEN 2129/named
and when it doesn't work, I don't see the lines posted above...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th December 2009, 11:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Does
Code:
netstat -tap | grep domain
give you any output when BIND isn't working?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28th December 2009, 10:18
mangia mangia is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Tried that but "domain" or "named" does not exist any more in list...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th December 2009, 13:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

And there are no errors in your logs?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
User unknown in relay recipient table Taxick Installation/Configuration 12 9th April 2013 13:31
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 06:35
FTP cannot open remote folder!?! andysm849 Server Operation 23 17th October 2008 00:34
What can be wrong martin_rudowicz Installation/Configuration 9 11th May 2008 20:42
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.