Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th March 2009, 05:22
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ProFTPD Offline

Hello and good evening.

I have recently installed ISPConfig 2.2.29 with ProFTPD on OpenSUSE 11.1 as instructed per the installation documentation. For some reason ISPConfig is reporting the FTP service being offline while in fact it is not. I am able to ftp into the machine from outside of my network. I have restarted the server from within the control panel and also from the command line with no success. Can someone instruct me in the right direction to rectify this problem?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 18th March 2009, 07:34
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,572
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,980 Times in 3,901 Posts
Default

Please post the output of:

netstat -tap | grep ftp
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th March 2009, 07:42
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please post the output of:

netstat -tap | grep ftp
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 14499/proftpd: (acc
tcp 0 0 isp.kernbits.net:ftp reason.kern:notify_srvr ESTABLISHED 18066/proftpd: web3

Thanks for the timely response.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th March 2009, 19:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Is AppArmor disabled?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th March 2009, 19:55
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes. It was turned off during installation per the documentation at:
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ensuse-11.1-p6

I am now showing that bind is offline as well. It did this last night for some reason but everything seems to be working well.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th March 2009, 09:16
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,572
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,980 Times in 3,901 Posts
Default

Please post the content of /etc/hosts file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th March 2009, 12:02
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

#
# hosts This file describes a number of hostname-to-address
# mappings for the TCP/IP subsystem. It is mostly
# used at boot time, when no name servers are running.
# On small systems, this file can be used instead of a
# "named" name server.
# Syntax:
#
# IP-Address Full-Qualified-Hostname Short-Hostname
#

127.0.0.1 localhost

# special IPv6 addresses
::1 localhost ipv6-localhost ipv6-loopback

fe00::0 ipv6-localnet

ff00::0 ipv6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ipv6-allnodes
ff02::2 ipv6-allrouters
ff02::3 ipv6-allhosts
127.0.0.2 isp.kernbits.net isp
192.168.1.3 isp.kernbits.net isp

****************

Bind seems to be offline too as of a couple of days ago. I dont know if this is related.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19th March 2009, 16:28
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Can you change
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost
to
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th March 2009, 20:15
reason8 reason8 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 136
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok, its done, but bind and ftp are still showing offline.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20th March 2009, 13:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
 
Default

What's the output of
Code:
netstat -tl
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.0.7 Beta - ProFTPd: Offline - FTP not working djh-compnet Installation/Configuration 5 27th October 2008 09:05
ProFTPd + MySQL refuses to work mongoose643 Server Operation 2 19th October 2008 16:43
Stop - start process ProFTPD and get warning kvdd Installation/Configuration 2 13th November 2007 17:25
proftpd virtual host not working DaddyFix Installation/Configuration 6 19th April 2006 19:59
Im thinking about throwing proftpd to the trashcan danf.1979 Installation/Configuration 2 23rd December 2005 09:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.