#1  
Old 10th March 2009, 13:35
fycserv fycserv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Propagation or glue dns ??

Hi All,

By Request of my ISP I had to change the IP address of my NS1. I went to godaddy and changed the NS1 and the @ IPs in the A registers. I did this last saturday and waited for propagation as suggested. In this moment Im in France and the IspConfig server is in Colombia. Well the fact is that I can see the sites from here ( sometimes ) but the people in Colombia can not see them (never) It could sound weird but the description is right, sometimes I see the sites, sometimes I cant. I must add that there are sites in that server that I have not seen since I did the change. My dig test seems to be ok. Last thing I did was to check the ns1 propagation with an online tool, some of the servers still list my ns1 with the old Ip.

In this moment I don't know what to do, as usual I came to you to find some light.

Thanks in advance.

ps. Falko, regarding your howto about having our own dns with IspConfig and Godaddy. The servernames for our ns1 and ns2, should be in the parked option ?, hosted here option ?

Last edited by fycserv; 10th March 2009 at 19:00.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th March 2009, 12:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Please don't double-post.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th March 2009, 14:40
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I do my own DNS on my own linode. My nameservers are ns1.mydomain and ns2.mydomain , in Godaddy's domain manager, scroll down and look on the left side under host summary. Adding a new one lets you specify the name (ns1, ns2) and the IPs, which you can then use as your nameservers in your registrar's record.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to id10t For This Useful Post:
fycserv (13th March 2009)
  #4  
Old 13th March 2009, 17:15
fycserv fycserv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Got it, It wont happen again.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 19:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 17:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 14:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 14:34
No SPF record. beryl Installation/Configuration 6 17th May 2007 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.