Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 25th April 2006, 10:54
pmenier pmenier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CAEN - France
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to pmenier
Default Re

vmpat4:~# ping -c4 192.168.1.44
PING 192.168.1.44 (192.168.1.44) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.1.24 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.24 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.1.24 icmp_seq=4 Destination Host Unreachable

--- 192.168.1.44 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, +3 errors, 100% packet loss, time 2998ms
, pipe 3

vmpat4:~# ifconfig
eth0 Lien encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0C:29:4C:1A:2D
inet adr:192.168.1.24 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Masque:255.255.255.0
adr inet6: fe80::20c:29ff:fe4c:1a2d/64 Scope:Lien
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:30318 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:19748 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:1000
RX bytes:37337734 (35.6 MiB) TX bytes:1664984 (1.5 MiB)
Interruption:177 Adresse de base:0x1080

lo Lien encap:Boucle locale
inet adr:127.0.0.1 Masque:255.0.0.0
adr inet6: ::1/128 Scope:Hte
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
RX bytes:336 (336.0 b) TX bytes:336 (336.0 b)

venet0 Lien encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 lg file transmission:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 b) TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

vmpat4:~#
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #32  
Old 25th April 2006, 16:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,748 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

eth0 is already in use (with the IP address 192.168.1.24)...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 25th April 2006, 19:19
pmenier pmenier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CAEN - France
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to pmenier
Default Re

Yes of course. It's the ip of the "master" .

master => 192.168.1.24

vserver1 => 192.168.1.44

etc...
And i repeat : this config works perfectly on another vmware with the same distrib (debian-3.1 stable).

Last edited by pmenier; 25th April 2006 at 19:23.
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 27th April 2006, 10:50
pmenier pmenier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CAEN - France
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to pmenier
Default Sample config ok/nok

Hello,

I've put here http://xoopmenier.dynalias.net/xoops...rs/details.htm
a config which run perfects.

We see this :
on the master ifconfig outputs :
.....
venet0 Lien encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
....

in the vps ifconfig outputs :
...
venet0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr FF-BF-A8-F6-FF-BF-38-93-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
...
venet0:0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr FF-BF-A8-F6-FF-BF-1C-F7-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
....

Now on a machine which fails to start the vps :

ifconfig on the master :
...
venet0 Lien encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
....

ifconfig in the vps :
...
venet0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
....
venet0:0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-00-FF-FF-FF-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
....

We see that HWaddr of venet0 is the same (master/vps) on the broken config. Hope this helps network's gurus to solve our problem...
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 7th June 2008, 10:56
pmenier pmenier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: CAEN - France
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via MSN to pmenier
 
Default Partially solved

Finally i destroy the virtual machine and reinstall it and that works but i didn't like this behavior and i migrate to linux-vserver.

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 15:15
subdomain problem drakos Installation/Configuration 3 25th February 2006 11:24
SMTP TLS Problem with Mail Client dschmid Installation/Configuration 1 9th December 2005 02:56
Problem with UebiMiau sodapop General 4 25th November 2005 10:51
Problem with webmail MyLinux General 10 17th September 2005 15:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.