Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th March 2009, 00:05
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

Not with correct records as the ispconfig permission fields are missing and you will not ba eble to edit these records from within ispconfig without setting the permission info.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 14th March 2009, 01:55
phorce1 phorce1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Not with correct records as the ispconfig permission fields are missing and you will not ba eble to edit these records from within ispconfig without setting the permission info.
The administrator can edit them, yes? That's all I need for my setup. Clients don't get to edit their own DNS records, they request it then we do it. So, I won't have to assign record to a user as admin can do all of the work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14th March 2009, 10:52
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

When the records are imported with this tool the permission records are missing and this can have side affects on the software so that various other functions might stop working or work impeoperly. If you want to use ispconfig you will have to set the permission records manually in the database.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14th March 2009, 17:36
phorce1 phorce1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The ones I have created for testing as the admin/superuser are setting the sys_perm_user and sys_perm_group to "ruid" and leaving sys_perm_other empty.

Seems like it would be a simple solution for those who want to convert hundreds of zones from a non-IPSConfig server to use ALTER TABLE to set the value for those fields on a new install.

I'll keep posting my questions/tests in this thread and when I'm done I'll try to collect all the things that worked into some sort of coherent documentation. I'm not a tech writer so whatever I collect will need to be gone over by someone else but it might help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14th March 2009, 20:56
phorce1 phorce1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Converting from BIND to MYDNS for ISPConfig

Till, If I've missed any fields that need to be updated below please let me know.

After following the steps below I created my first test client and the system allowed me to edit the DNS records (as admin) and assign them to the new client. When logging in as the new client it allows me to edit the records.

OK, on a FRESH install (no users/groups/clients created yet, only the admin user)

Grab a copy of your named.conf
Open it with your favorite text editor and edit out EVERYTHING except the domain names, one per line.

Save this file as 'allzones' on your ISPConfig/MyDNS server

Run this to import ALL zones
Code:
while read LINE ; do mydnsimport --axfr=YOUR_BIND_SERVERNAME "$LINE"; done < allzones
now connect to http:YOUR_ISPCONFIG_SERVER/phpmyadmin and log in as root

click on the dbispconfig database in the left panel
click on the SQL link at the top of the right panel
copy this into the box
Code:
UPDATE `dns_rr` SET `sys_perm_user` = "riud" , `sys_perm_group` = "riud" , `sys_userid` = 1 , `active` = "Y"
click GO

then

click on the SQL link at the top of the right panel
copy this into the box
Code:
UPDATE `dns_soa` SET `sys_perm_user` = "riud" , `sys_perm_group` = "riud" , `sys_userid` = 1, `active` = "Y"
click GO

All zones from your BIND server should now be visible in your ISPConfig setup and be marked as active. As admin you should be able to assign them to clients as needed.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15th March 2009, 00:03
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

If you set the permission fields like this it should work correctly as long as you do not use a multiserver system were the mydns server is on a different system then the controlpanel.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15th March 2009, 00:48
phorce1 phorce1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If the MyDNS server is on a different machine then I suspect one could create a test domain on that external server, check the database to see what the permissions are set to, then make corrections to the SQL statements.

Yes?

I'll test it when I clear a second box to do multi-server testing

Last edited by phorce1; 15th March 2009 at 01:47. Reason: Adding some info
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th March 2009, 09:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
If the MyDNS server is on a different machine then I suspect one could create a test domain on that external server, check the database to see what the permissions are set to, then make corrections to the SQL statements.
No. All records that are inserted on the main server have to be written to the datalog (table sys_datalog) in form of a serialized PHP object which contains the differences of the inserted records to be synched to the slave server.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email Clients cannot send mail iverson0881 Installation/Configuration 3 8th May 2008 08:34
Can't start apache Musty Server Operation 12 9th March 2008 13:58
Multiple Server Setup Hawker Installation/Configuration 9 5th April 2007 13:07
Administrator receive empty mail ??? Stanev General 16 7th April 2006 20:56
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.