#1  
Old 6th March 2009, 04:23
rrhode rrhode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default BIND, Webmin and CentOS 5.2

Hi there,

I started with a fresh CentOS 5 system and did the guide here:

http://howtoforge.com/virtual-hostin...n-centos5.1-p6

I skipped all the mail setup because my host doesn't allow me to send mail yet but that should be no problem.

The thing that is the problem which I am trying to figure out is how I can setup BIND on my server so that I can host other domains.

I have webmin setup and everything seems to be working ok.

I don't have any zones created yet though and I am not sure how to go about doing it. The guide doesn't seem to explain much.

In webmin it says:

There are no DNS zones defined for this name server

Create master zone. | Create slave zone. | Create stub zone. | Create forward zone. | Create delegation zone. | Create root zone. | Create zones from batch file.

Existing Client Views
There are no client views defined on this server.

Create client view.

These allow me to create zones but I really am not entirely sure what they are exactly or what I am supposed to do to get things going. I have installed all this as in the guide but at page 6 I am stuck.

Specifically at these steps:

BIND DNS Domain Template

This template is used to customize the zones that will be created by virtualmin. The changes to be made are adding a spf record, add the following records to auto generated text box (replace ns1.home.topdog-software.com. with your slave server):

@ IN NS ns1.home.topdog-software.com. ;slave
admin IN A 192.168.1.6 ;virtualmin
webmail IN A 192.168.1.5 ;webmail

In the directives text box add the following with the IP address of your slave server such that the slave is allowed to do zone transfers.

allow-transfer { 192.168.1.2; };

I don't have a domain pointed at the server yet even. I am not sure what to put instead of ns1.home.topdog-software.com or the IP addresses. I do have 3 IP addresses on the system.

I also am not sure what it means by slave server. I don't even know that I have a slave server. I have one dedicated server.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!!!

Ryan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th March 2009, 15:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

I don't know the DNS part of webmin, but I think if you read http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto the concept of webmin's BIND part should be a little bit clearer.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
rrhode (6th March 2009)
  #3  
Old 6th March 2009, 23:22
rrhode rrhode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Perfect =) Thank you!

It did make things much much clearer now but I don't think I will ever be confident with this entire aspect of setting up a server.

Now lets say I have 3 IP addresses pointing at my system:

192.168.0.100
192.168.0.101
192.168.0.102

And I have multiple domains:

mydomain.com
someonesdomain.com
somedomain.com
anotherdomain.com
yetanother.com

I want IP address 192.168.0.100 to be my primary address and the only domain I want to point at this address is mydomain.com. Would I then set ns1.mydomain.com to this same .100 IP address?

Would I set ns2.mydomain.com to a unique address, the 101?

I would want any other domains to point to a separate IP address completely so they would all share an IP such as 192.168.0.102 or 101 but should 101 be reserved completely for ns2.mydomain.com?

Or is it possible to point them to the same as the IP as ns2 subdomain so I can free up one IP address if needed?

I am not really sure how this will all work out in the end but I would guess virtualmin will start editing the zone files adding any virtual hosts to them.

Ryan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th March 2009, 16:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhode View Post
I want IP address 192.168.0.100 to be my primary address and the only domain I want to point at this address is mydomain.com. Would I then set ns1.mydomain.com to this same .100 IP address?
ns1.mydomain.com is independent from mydomain.com, so it can point to any IP address. But if your nameserver lsitens on .100, then point ns1 to that IP.

If you want to host the mydomsin.com zone on ns1.mydomain.com, you need a glue record: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Domain_...d_glue_records

BTW, you must use public IP addresses for your records, or nobody from outside your LAN will be able to access your servers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrhode View Post
Would I set ns2.mydomain.com to a unique address, the 101?

I would want any other domains to point to a separate IP address completely so they would all share an IP such as 192.168.0.102 or 101 but should 101 be reserved completely for ns2.mydomain.com?

Or is it possible to point them to the same as the IP as ns2 subdomain so I can free up one IP address if needed?
Normally you should set up ns2 on a completely different server so that it can take over if ns1 fails. In your case, it doesn'T make much sense to have ns2 because it's on the same server as ns1, and if ns1 is down, ns2 is down as well.
But as registrars need two nameservers, you can create a record for ns2 anyway. But it is possible that some registrars won't accept it because it's using the same IP as ns1 (if you use .100 for ns2 as well) or in the same subnet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WebMin vs ISPConfig bemenaker Server Operation 4 12th May 2013 17:29
[Question] Server Monitoring With munin And monit On CentOS 5.2 staticanime HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd December 2008 17:20
BIND DNS + Webmin CentOS 5.1 Forgott3n Server Operation 3 21st June 2008 11:20
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 16:47
Webmin & phpMyAdmin kingtech General 3 23rd August 2006 17:32


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.