Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 27th May 2009, 17:24
sonicscott sonicscott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
@sonicscott: Which mydns version do you have installed?
MyDNS 1.2.8.27 - MySQL 5.0.67

Just so I am being clear, here is what I did:

1) Changed the database table and the two PHP files as above

2) Upgraded MyDNS

After re-reading the above, I think I have successfully stepped on myself!

*** UPDATE ***

I ran the ISPCONFIG_UPDATE.SH file and updated to the latest ISPCONFIG version (3.0.1.3). This changed the above PHP files back to what they originally were and changed the database field type back to ENUM. Now when I restart the bind9 server, in the syslog file I get 'Permission Denied' instead of 'Refused'.

*** END OF UPDATE ***

Thanks!

Last edited by sonicscott; 27th May 2009 at 18:25. Reason: update
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 27th May 2009, 23:40
sonicscott sonicscott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

With the above issue between MyDNS and Bind9, let me ask this:

Is it possible to stop using MyDNS and install BIND on the ISPCONFIG server? I realize that I would have to manually create/edit the zone files instead of using the interface, but would this cause any other issues with ISPConfig?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 27th May 2009, 23:47
sonicscott sonicscott is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 18
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Solved

Please ignore last message. Problem resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th November 2009, 19:11
normc normc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Will this fix be included in upcoming releases of ISPConfig?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 16th November 2009, 19:15
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,407
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

You will have to ask this the mydns developers, as its a bug in mydns and not ispconfig. And as ispconfig does not ship or change the mydns sources, they have to apply the fix in their sourcecode. See my posts in this thread to see why its a mydns bug and not ispconfig bug.

Might ven be that its fixed already in mydns as this thread is old and there are newer mydns releases.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 16th November 2009, 20:50
rukus77 rukus77 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 33
Thanks: 7
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normc View Post
Will this fix be included in upcoming releases of ISPConfig?
Installing mydns-ng will be your best bet if you want this issue resolved.

Mike
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18th November 2009, 04:18
normc normc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you very much for your input and clarification.

I have installed the MyDNS-ng binaries and I noticed that the DB schema is different from the MyDNS tables (dns_soa, and dns_rr). Will the ISPConfig DNS interface still work with the new MyDNS-ng table structure?

Is it as easy as dropping the original mydns tables (dns_soa, and dns_rr) and replacing them with the MyDNS-ng tables of the same name (mydns --create-tables)?

I have searched for a document online that explains this, but have not found one explaining this.

Your help is appreciated.

Thank you,
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 18th November 2009, 08:52
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,407
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,496 Times in 4,326 Posts
Default

ISPConfig is compatible with mydns-ng, thats why we suggest to use it here.

Do not modify any tables!
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 5th January 2010, 16:11
u4david u4david is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 99
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Dns Ispconfig3 assistance

i would like to configure dns records on ispconfig3.
This is one server operation (one server runs it all).I remember thought when installing that somewhere i used different names for mail server configuration and ns server configuration....
Steps how to verify this naming would be helpful.
My router have open porsts listed by ispconfig firewall.

my registrar configuration is:
mydomain.com > public ip 66.226.1.1(that is my static ip i replaced the last digits with 1 s to stay anonymous)
mydomain.net >public ip 66.226.1.1

I think that should be the only configuration that i will do using my registrar control panel.The rest should be done using Ispconfig3 correct?

Right now my web pages on each of these domains load correctly using virtual host one ip.(tested load the correct page for each domain)

Up to this point all works

now i would like to configure dns using Ispconfig3
that is a,mx,ns records.....
mydomain.net will be the first one to configure it and test it.
So lets concentrate just on this domain:

so first add a zone:
soa: u4server.net.
NS: what to put here?how to verify the correct ns host name is used?
email: what to put here?how to verify the correct host name is used?

active is checked

nex is to add the the records

adding A ,mx,ns records first

please advise how to add them
what names to choose and how to verify that proper host names/sub domains are used. and adding appropriate IP.

Is local IP used ar all IPs will pont to the public IP?
if local IPs are used in some extend when and how?


thank you for clarification.

Last edited by u4david; 5th January 2010 at 16:21.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13th April 2010, 14:18
cyp25 cyp25 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

The field type in dns_soa table has to be VARCHAR and not INT to make it work.

Regards
Cyp25


Quote:
Originally Posted by falcontx View Post
2) Alter the "active" field in the dns_soa table to type "int" or "tinyint" ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MyDNS as slave DNS server? lano General 6 10th September 2009 07:08
offsite DNS (master and slave) solution jorizzzz Tips/Tricks/Mods 1 9th March 2009 16:04
Slave dns problem blackmask Installation/Configuration 1 3rd October 2007 13:51
SuSE as master DNS server and Centos as slave DNS server... sthompson Server Operation 3 17th September 2006 13:24
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 18:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.