Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th March 2009, 13:57
Mouton Mouton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default ISPConfig 3 - Vhost and DocumentRoot

Hello,

I changed the default configuration for documentroot folder from /var/www/... to /home/www/... but not all the paths in the vhost files are changed. Could this be a bug ? Am I doing something wrong ?

Config: Debian Lenny / Ispconfig 3.0.0.9 RC2



Here is the vhost file:



Code:
<VirtualHost *:80>
      DocumentRoot /var/www/domain.tld/web

    ServerName domain.tld
    ServerAlias www.domain.tld
    ServerAdmin webmaster@domain.tld

    ErrorLog /var/log/ispconfig/httpd/domain.tld/error.log

    ErrorDocument 400 /error/400.html
    ErrorDocument 401 /error/401.html
    ErrorDocument 403 /error/403.html
    ErrorDocument 404 /error/404.html
    ErrorDocument 405 /error/405.html
    ErrorDocument 500 /error/500.html
    ErrorDocument 503 /error/503.html

    <Directory /var/www/domain.tld/web>
        Options FollowSymLinks
        AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
        Order allow,deny
        Allow from all
    </Directory>

    # mod_php enabled
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
        php_admin_value sendmail_path "/usr/sbin/sendmail -t -i -fwebmaster@domain.tld"
    php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /home/www/web2/tmp
    php_admin_value session.save_path /home/www/web2/tmp
    #php_admin_value open_basedir /home/www/web2:/usr/share/php5


</VirtualHost>

And of course, restarting apache leads to
Code:
/home/www# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
Restarting web server: apache2Warning: DocumentRoot [/var/www/domain.tld/web] does not exist
 ... waiting Warning: DocumentRoot [/var/www/domain.tld/web] does not exist
.

Last edited by Mouton; 5th March 2009 at 14:31.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th March 2009, 14:36
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,594
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,984 Times in 3,904 Posts
Default

If you change the path to /home/www several functions like suexec will not work anymore because the suexec path /var/www is compiled into the apache binaries from debian. If you dont need functions like suexec and can live with a limited functionality in ISPConfig, you can use /home/www but you might have to change also the vhost templete in /usr/local/ispconfig/server/conf/
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th March 2009, 15:02
Mouton Mouton is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

It's ok for me to have ISPConfig to be placed into/var/www, but not for domains handled in ISPConfig.

It's strange that we can redefine the "Website path" param in the system-> server config in ISPConfig interface but that it doesn't work anymore after changing this. ?

The thing is my main drive is mounted in /home/. Cannot I use this space for websites without reviewing all my server config ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th March 2009, 15:48
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,594
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,984 Times in 3,904 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
The thing is my main drive is mounted in /home/. Cannot I use this space for websites without reviewing all my server config ?
You can do this if you do what I explained above.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
documentroot, ispconfig 3, vhost

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how can I set several IPs for one domain? freesqrt Tips/Tricks/Mods 17 12th January 2009 14:22
Shared IP message stirfry Installation/Configuration 15 5th November 2008 18:51
ISPConfig virtual web pages not working mike_phi Installation/Configuration 8 7th May 2008 16:51
shared IP | ISPConfig creates wrong vhost configs phor Installation/Configuration 4 24th December 2006 14:19
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 21:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.