Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 18th March 2006, 23:54
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hostname/domain in initial installation

In a recent post I read that, during installation, the hostname/domain for ISPConfig should be different than an intended virtual host. I did not see that in either the FC4 Perfect setup nor the ISPConfig manual. What problems will this cause, and can I change that in Server Settings in the management menu, or do I have to do a reinstall?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 19th March 2006, 00:51
Cirox Cirox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

just use a technical domain for your ispconfig box. That means you just use the technical domain for /etc/hostname /hostname and postfix ;-) in $mydomain and you should not add a web with this domain.

you can change this, you dont need to reinstall all ....

greetings cirox
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19th March 2006, 01:14
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cirox
Hi,

just use a technical domain for your ispconfig box. That means you just use the technical domain for /etc/hostname /hostname and postfix ;-) in $mydomain and you should not add a web with this domain.

you can change this, you dont need to reinstall all ....

greetings cirox
I think I understand what you're saying. I do have another IP with a .net domain. I think I changed that in the ISPConfig server settings. I'll have to see if I can find those other files and check what's in there. In that case, the tech domain will be the actual mailserver for all domains?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19th March 2006, 13:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

The mailserver for a domain is what is specified in that domain's MX record. If the MX record points to your server, then your server is the mailserver for the domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19th March 2006, 18:52
Commdude Commdude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Oregon
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
The mailserver for a domain is what is specified in that domain's MX record. If the MX record points to your server, then your server is the mailserver for the domain.
Understood. So I assume that the hostname/domain as initially configured during the FC4 install would be that server.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19th March 2006, 22:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,395
Thanks: 833
Thanked 5,490 Times in 4,322 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commdude
Understood. So I assume that the hostname/domain as initially configured during the FC4 install would be that server.
Thtas correct. If you want to chnage this, you will have to modify /etc/hostname too:

echo server1.example.com > /etc/hostname
/bin/hostname -F /etc/hostname

where server1.example.com is your technical domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPC install stops str2etboy Installation/Configuration 19 28th January 2006 07:18
Installation Coldfusion error misterm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 19:06
Problems getting through the installation klausagnoletti Installation/Configuration 4 26th September 2005 12:23
mysql password during installation Hellbound Installation/Configuration 4 21st September 2005 18:52
Trouble with Installation. cjkeeme Installation/Configuration 3 3rd August 2005 18:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.