Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd March 2009, 12:25
EricTRA EricTRA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Terrassa, Barcelona, Spain
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to EricTRA
Default High Availability and Load Balanced MySQL cluster

Hello all,

I have set up successfully a high availability, load balanced MySQL cluster using the HowTo : How To Set Up A Load-Balanced MySQL Cluster from Falko. I had to adapt some of the commands because I'm using Debian Lenny but everything works like a charm.

The setup as I have it now is:

LoadBalancer1 with the Cluster management.
LoadBalancer2 failover config in case LoadBalancer1 goes down
MySQL1
MySQL2

I was wondering, since both LoadBalancers don't use a lot of resources, if I can run the same on only two servers, configuring the following:

MySQL1 being the cluster manager and first SQL node, with UltraMonkey for heartbeat and ldirector.
MySQL2 being the failover for management and the second SQL node, with UltraMonkey failover.

I'm not sure if one of the nodes goes down, what would be the consequence on the data level, will the cluster keep running on one machine and replicate the data when the other one comes up again? Or is this whole thing a bad idea?

This question of course was posed to me by my chief who is interested in limiting our expense
Now that I have it set up and running pretty good, he's coming up with this so any help to provide me with arguments in order to change his mind is welcome.

If someone with more experience could give me some pro's and con's of this change, I'd really appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Eric
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th March 2009, 13:27
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

I think this should work. But another solution might be to use virtual machines - that way you can use less physical servers.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability (Load Balancing) behind a firewall geek.de.nz Server Operation 7 4th January 2011 13:58
Apache High Availability Server Turtorial Issues theev HOWTO-Related Questions 1 2nd October 2008 15:46
Public and private network + High Availability Apache Cluster teleted HOWTO-Related Questions 11 28th January 2008 14:29
Installed nfs cluster, now only 1 connection out of two 2 works Jan VdV HOWTO-Related Questions 3 23rd February 2007 20:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.