Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2nd March 2009, 00:20
Hoss212 Hoss212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default need DHCP help (Ubuntu 8.10)

Sry if this is in wrong topic.
Ok I have looked at many guides and forums and have configured my files as follows:

/etc/network/interfaces
Code:
#The loopback interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
/etc/hosts
Code:
127.0.0.1           localhost                   localhost
63.246.59.228    Server1.static.net      Server1

(IPv6 info not relevant)
/etc/networks
Code:
default        0.0.0.0
loopback    127.0.0.0
link-local    169.254.0.0
localnet      63.246.59.0
/etc/resolv.conf
Code:
nameserver 63.246.63.142
nameserver 69.60.160.203
search geus.org
Those are all the configs that come to mind if you need any more just ask.

The problem im having is that when i restart my networking with /etc/init.d/networking restart i get this error.

Code:
Listening on LPF/eth0/00:13:72:d0:4f:bd
Sending on LPF/eth0/00:13:72:d0:4f:bd
Sending on Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
(it repeat line above this 8 times at different interval numbers)
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 2nd March 2009, 14:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

I guess there's no DHCP server in your network.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd March 2009, 14:47
Hoss212 Hoss212 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Ok so then how should i configure the network to get a connection?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th March 2009, 13:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Do you have a router in your network? Normally you can enable a DHCP server on your router (through the router's web interface).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th March 2009, 13:55
matey matey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 93
Thanks: 13
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
 
Default

I had a similar problem and I noticed there were 3 NICs on the server, so I changed the eth0 to eth2 (or whichever is connected or just plug the cable to the right one) and the problem was solved.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu 8.10 on DELL PowerEdge SC440 cannot boot karotu Installation/Configuration 2 8th December 2008 22:00
Zivios & Ubuntu 8.10 staticanime HOWTO-Related Questions 0 3rd December 2008 21:34
buffer i/o error when installing ubuntu server 8.10 DaRKNeSS666NL Installation/Configuration 2 15th November 2008 13:41
Problem on restart bind9 satimis Server Operation 6 30th October 2007 02:01
Log for Debugging jwan Installation/Configuration 5 27th October 2006 14:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.