Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 9th February 2009, 19:31
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Many questons from a confused newb.

Again I climb the mountain to gain the wisdom of the elders.

My situation:

I am doing this more as a learning experience but all learning has stopped. Purely my fault I guarantee. I just have too many variables that I do not understand and they keep tripping me up.

I have tried to research these in the forums here but I thought since I have so many, someone could save me years of research and answer them quickly.

I am semi admin literate, but not to the level of most folks here. I am trying to set up a server where I can just add a site, setup something like Wordpress on it, and have it running within a day or two.

My setup:

Ubuntu Hardy Heron - perfect setup (actually used the setup for the previous distro since there was not a Heron walkthrough online at the time.
ISPConfig
Wireless connection (bad idea I know, but I don't have a choice) through a Linksys WRT600n - everything is working fine with the connection, all ports are open and everything seems to send/receive the proper info, i.e. I can logon to ISPConfig, I can see most sites I have set up, etc.


My questions
1) Do I actually need 2 servers (physical computers) since I need 2 DNS servers at the registrar? With separate IP's? Can I do this through DYDNS or something?
2) In ISPConfig, when I create a site, is it supposed to put a reference (new master) under DNS Manager? This does not seem consistent on mine. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't.
3) Where should the sites reside in Linux? I believe I have setup sites that have ended up in /var/www as web1, web2, etc., but then some ended up in the same folder as www.example.com. Which is correct and how do I make it consistent?
4) When it doe add a new site under the DNS Manager, under records, shouldn't the A record host name be "www"? It seems to default to "mail"
5) Under ISP Manager, when it asks for ip address, is that internal or external? How about under the DNS Manager?
6) After adding a site, do I need to reboot ISPConfig? Or possibly an individual service? They do not seem to show up immediately even though the new domain should have propagated through the registrar. Is there a time lag in ISPConfig somehow?
7) If I need to reboot ISPConfig, how do I do that via SSH? I know how to reboot an individual service (Apache, Proftp, etc)

I probably have more questions once (and if) someone answers these. Your time and consideration is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th February 2009, 17:00
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default No takers?

Let me see if I can distill this down so that it is easier to answer quickly.


DNS
1) Do I need 2 servers (physical computers) since I need 2 DNS servers at the registrar?

2) When I create a site, is it supposed to put a reference (new master or new slave) under DNS Manager?

3) If so should the site's ip address be internal (192.168.1.x) or external (71.82.33.x) in DNS Manager? Is the same true for the domain that is associated with the dns server(s)?


Site

1) Under ISP Manager, should the ip be internal (192.168.1.x) or external (71.82.33.14). Is the same true for the domain that is associated with the dns server(s)?

2) When I add a new site under the DNS Manager, under records, should the A record hostname be "www"?

3) After adding a site, do I need to reboot ISPConfig? Or possibly Apache?

4) If I need to reboot ISPConfig, how do I do that via SSH?


System
1) Where should the sites reside in Linux? Under what name?


I hope this makes it easier to give quick answers.

Thanks again in advance
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th February 2009, 18:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
1) Do I need 2 servers (physical computers) since I need 2 DNS servers at the registrar?
Probably yes. There are only a handful of registrars that let you register one IP address for two nameservers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
2) When I create a site, is it supposed to put a reference (new master or new slave) under DNS Manager?
Only if the ISPConfig server is the authoritative nameserver for that domain. If someone else (e.g. your registrar) runs the nameservers, then you don't need the DNS Manager at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
3) If so should the site's ip address be internal (192.168.1.x) or external (71.82.33.x) in DNS Manager? Is the same true for the domain that is associated with the dns server(s)?
USe public IP addresses in the DNS Manager because otherwise people from outside your LAN won't be able to access your sites.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
1) Under ISP Manager, should the ip be internal (192.168.1.x) or external (71.82.33.14).
USe the IP that you see in the output of
Code:
ifconfig
If the server is in your LAN, this should be a private IP.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
2) When I add a new site under the DNS Manager, under records, should the A record hostname be "www"?
You can define all kinds of hostnames there, like www, ftp, mail, etc. You should also define an A record with an empty hostname (for the domain itself).

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
3) After adding a site, do I need to reboot ISPConfig? Or possibly Apache?
No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
4) If I need to reboot ISPConfig, how do I do that via SSH?
Code:
/etc/init.d/ispconfig_server restart

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
1) Where should the sites reside in Linux? Under what name?
Depends on your distribution. Debian/Ubuntu/Fedora/CentOS/Mandriva: /var/www
SUSE: /srv/www
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th February 2009, 18:40
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Thanks

Falko,

You rock as always. Let me digest this and I will probably be back with more. Thanks again for your quick response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2009, 02:43
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Okay,

Here's where my problem lies and why I am so confused.

You (Falko) say
"If someone else (e.g. your registrar) runs the nameservers".

I would much rather have my registrar (admitedly, they are a cheap one) run my nameserevers but after a day or so of playing with their interface, I could not find out how to make that happen.

My options were:

Parked (park domains there)
Hosting (Host domains there)
Custom (Host domains elsewhere)

Under "Parked", I get their dns servers and no where to enter my ip address. So the sites won't resolve to my server.

Obviously, "Hosting" makes me host the sites there

With Custom, I have to enter my dns names (ns1.example.com, etc). Therefore, I have to handle the dns in ISPConfig, correct?

There is an area where I can add a "Host Summary". In thise area I can enter my ip address. It also asks me for a Host name (________.mydomain.com). But entering info here does no good. After 24 hours to allow for propogation, a traceroute doesn't get past the registrar.

So I called their tech support. They said that what I was attempting to do was impossible. The dns server MUST reside on the same server as the website.

Am I confusing DNS server, and name server, and authoritative name server? Was I confusing my terms when I talked to him? Maybe I need a new registrar? Maybe their tech support is full of shite? Maybe I'm a dumb@ss?

In researching the problem, every site I go to simply says "go to your registrar and point the domain at your server)." Am I supposed to point it at my nameserver or the web server, or what?

How do I do this? Do I simply enter ns1.myexample.com? (my dns server should be setup correctly through the perfect setup). Once I do that, do I then need the once again need the dns manager in ISPConfig. This would mean Falko is mistaken so I don't believe this is correct.

Can you or someone please give me detailed instructions on how this is accomplished? I am extremely frustrated since I can't even get a site to resolve now unless I use the DNS manager.

Thanks again in advance.

Last edited by jopa123; 12th February 2009 at 05:26.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2009, 16:10
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Semi-resolution but still confused

Okay,

If I use the Custom option from my registrar and use ns1.myserver.com, everything seems to resolve.

So am I running the DNS and they are basically forwarding? Do I need to use the DNS manager at all? Or does ISPConfig handle this for me?

Is there some sort of delay after adding the site to ISPConfig? Not the DNS propagation delay, I understand that. But if I buy the domain, enter my nameserver, add the site, wait for it to resolve, then I have to delete the site for some reason, empty the recycle bin, then re-add the site, will it pop up automatically via the web or is there a delay?

Still confused. But live!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th February 2009, 16:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Take a look here:
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund

That should give you the idea.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th February 2009, 17:58
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Think I got it.

Falko,

Again, thanks. I think the cloud is beginning to lift. I had read that first tute, but not the second. It was very hepful.

If I am understanding correctly. I really only need to mess with the DNS Manager when I am setting up the nameservers (ns1.myserver.com), not when setting up a site. Is this correct?

Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th February 2009, 13:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jopa123 View Post
If I am understanding correctly. I really only need to mess with the DNS Manager when I am setting up the nameservers (ns1.myserver.com), not when setting up a site. Is this correct?
Yes, that's right.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16th February 2009, 16:31
jopa123 jopa123 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 140
Thanks: 10
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default Stil issues

Falko,

Here's the issue I have, then. The domain that has the nameserver attached to it (ns1mymainsite.com) will resolve online, no problem.

Any additional site I add does not resolve.

The domains are now over a month old so it is not a propagation issue. The dns servers are registered with the registrar as ns1.mymainsite.com and ns2.mymainsite.com.

A traceroute of the domains reaches my server. It actually shows it reaching the internal ip (192.169.1.x).

Where do I look to find the problem here? Why are the sites not online?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slightly Confused (DNS & Server Help) JohnnyBGoode Installation/Configuration 26 14th August 2007 09:54
Newb needs help savagemania Installation/Configuration 1 9th August 2007 09:58
DNS, a little confused.... coe_pal Server Operation 2 4th January 2007 04:47
Confused about FTP Vermyndax Server Operation 3 12th June 2006 16:31
confused about the mail settings ofispconfig Ovidiu General 3 18th September 2005 21:36


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.