Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th March 2009, 06:55
rrhode rrhode is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default A good firewall to use

Hi there,

I saw somewhere that you were wondering what firewall to include with ISPConfig 3. Whether you were going to keep the old one Ballista that you used in ISPConfig 2 or find a different one.

Well I have become quite fond of CSF and wonder if it is an option?

It has a module for webmin which maybe you could use to get an idea of it. I don't know if there is something wrong with CSF but I am pretty sure its good for the job.

It also automatically updates itself. It appears to run on a large number of distributions and virtual servers.

http://www.configserver.com/cp/csf.html

I would absolutely love to see this inside ISPConfig.

I am currently testing Webmin with the GPL version of Virtualmin with this on there and so far so good. The system has been up for a month and nobody has hacked it yet that I am aware of.

I am comparing that to ISPConfig 3 to see which I like better. If CSF goes to ISPConfig 3 I will definitely be using it instead. Hell, I would pay up to $200 for this since that is how much I will have to pay for the professional version of Virtualmin in order to get my system setup properly. ISPConfig has most, if not all of the options I can see that I would need and is much quicker, nicer and simpler to use by the looks of it. Virtualmin / webmin are pretty darn nice but I am kind of liking ISPConfig 3 now that I took a look at it.

I may have to install ISPConfig 3 either way just because it looks like its laid out nicer and may be easier for clients to use to create and manage their own websites.

I have some questions about it but maybe I should put that in another thread.

Ryan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th March 2009, 12:15
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

ISPConfig 3 uses Bastille. bastille works quite well and I dont see a reason at the moment to switch to another firewall. ISPConfig is a modular controlpanel so if someone wants to add a new firewall he can write a plugin for it.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th April 2009, 00:15
agapito agapito is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

how can I to use bastille?

tahnks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th April 2009, 09:28
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
Default

Install ispconfig and then enabele the firewall in the administration module.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th April 2009, 13:10
davestyle davestyle is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 14
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Why doesn't ISPconfig use straight up good old fashion IPtables?
Might be nice to be able to specify source and destination addresses in the firewall config page. Come to think of it, I might post that as a feature request
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th April 2009, 19:44
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,486
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,256 Times in 4,121 Posts
 
Default

Bastille is a iptables wrapper script.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High Availability (Load Balancing) behind a firewall geek.de.nz Server Operation 7 4th January 2011 13:58
Running customised firewall script -RHEL 4 sud.tech Technical 0 12th June 2008 15:17
firewall scripts error in RHEL 4 sud.tech Technical 1 6th June 2008 11:22
ISP Services firewall page ustoopia Feature Requests 2 17th July 2007 18:39
I need a suitable firewall. agul Server Operation 4 23rd November 2005 00:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.