Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Tips/Tricks/Mods

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2009, 19:56
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 117
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Post mydns - as slave DNS server form master database

I create script which enable second ISPconfig3 server, which is connected to master ISPconfig3, to act as slave DNS.

all zones are created in master server, and with this script you can transfer(mirror) dns data to second server every 10 min via cron.

Here is the script
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Franz For This Useful Post:
falko (23rd September 2009), till (23rd September 2009)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th October 2009, 14:56
mhpcomputerservices mhpcomputerservices is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Walsall, England
Posts: 37
Thanks: 5
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mhpcomputerservices Send a message via Skype™ to mhpcomputerservices
Question

Hi Franz

I'm trying to get your script working on my multiserver setup.

ISPC3 3.0.1.6
Master - Ubuntu 8.10 x64
Secondary - Ubuntu 9.04 x64

I have followed the instructions.

Edited on secondary server - /etc/mydns.conf
Created on secondary server - /root/dns_transfer.sh
(Copied user names/passwords on secondary server from /usr/local/ispconfig/server/lib/config.inc.php into dns_transfer.sh)

When I run ./dns_transfer.sh I get - ERROR 1142 (42000) at line 1: SELECT command denied to user 'ispcsrv2'@'xxxx.xxxxx.co.uk' for table 'dns_soa'

(I've xxxx'd out my server names in this post)

Is there anything I should be doing differently?

Thanks
Marc
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th October 2009, 19:29
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 117
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

what are names of databases on master and slave server?

what is main database on slave server for ispconfig?
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog

Last edited by Franz; 28th October 2009 at 19:39.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st October 2009, 12:55
stars stars is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I suppose Franz posted a script for configuration:

server no 1 - ispconfig3 - ns1
server no 2 - no ispconfig, just mydns - ns2

If you have multiserver config using ispconfig 3 on both servers - Franz's script is not for you.

And referring to second part:

Quote:
SELECT command denied to user 'ispcsrv2'@'xxxx.xxxxx.co.uk' for table 'dns_soa'
Check on server1 mysql user `ispcsrv` - if he has rights to access table `dns_soa` and if he can connect from `xxx.xxxxx.co.uk` host.

regards
Stars
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st October 2009, 13:02
Franz Franz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Cakovec
Posts: 117
Thanks: 7
Thanked 24 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to Franz
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stars View Post
I suppose Franz posted a script for configuration:

server no 1 - ispconfig3 - ns1
server no 2 - no ispconfig, just mydns - ns2

If you have multiserver config using ispconfig 3 on both servers - Franz's script is not for you.
why not ? I have iscponfig on second server, I just copy data for mydns to second server to act as slave, as ISPconfig does not have dns replication jet.
__________________
my PAGE
VoIP
my IT help blog
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st October 2009, 20:40
lano lano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 94
Thanks: 10
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
Default

When I had two ISPC servers, I did database replication described here http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...079#post197079
I only replicate DNS tables.
Now I have ISPC3 as master and MyDNS as slave, and I will write tutorial and post it here soon.
Hope it helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st November 2009, 19:35
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 426
Thanks: 33
Thanked 55 Times in 38 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
 
Default DNS data from ISPConfig3 to ISPConfig3

Check out this script that does the same...
http://www.how2forge.org/forums/showthread.php?t=40595

Perhaps we can combine our efforts?
__________________

Sami Mattila
Internet-Content

Telephone:
00358942833310
Email: firstname.lastname@internet-content.org
Shop: http://shop.internet-content.net
Site: http://www.internet-content.net
Blog: http://www.internet-content.net/en/blog
FB: https://www.facebook.com/internetcontent

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
Slave DNS server hangs during restart (Bind) mangia Server Operation 10 29th December 2009 14:28
MyDNS as slave DNS server? lano General 6 10th September 2009 07:08
Can't start apache Musty Server Operation 12 9th March 2008 13:58
subdomain and mail relay configuration aranthorn Installation/Configuration 24 3rd September 2007 22:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.