Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th February 2009, 22:20
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Exclamation Urgent: ImageMagick causes high server- & CPU load

I've found out by using the "top" command that Imagemagick causes a very high server- & CPU load on my server. These high loads occur when the command "convert" is active.

Is there a way to avoid/reduce these high server- & cpu loads?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11th February 2009, 22:43
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 151 Times in 131 Posts
Default

Hi Hans,

I have some sites that make a lot of use of ImageMagick (really a lot), and do not have a high load problem with this

Are you using extra options with the convert, and from what to what are you converting?
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2009, 23:06
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Hi edge,
Thanks for your reply. Well i have a lot of TYPO3 & some osCommerce websites that make use of imagemagick. During image converting the server- & cpu-loads are too high for my server.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2009, 23:17
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 265
Thanked 151 Times in 131 Posts
Default

What version of convert are you using?
run convert -version to see it.

Also for a quick fix I would suggest asking help at http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse-server/
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 11th February 2009 at 23:21.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th February 2009, 23:48
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

The output is:
Version: ImageMagick 6.2.4 02/10/07 Q16 http://www.imagemagick.org
Copyright: Copyright (C) 1999-2005 ImageMagick Studio LLC

I will take a look at that link. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th February 2009, 09:56
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

I want to know how i can configure ImageMagick to prevent high CPU rates and memory consumption on the shared hosting server.
I did not find an answer yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th February 2009, 17:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

This is what I've found:
http://www.imagemagick.org/discourse...php?f=3&t=8474
http://forum.engineyard.com/forums/6/topics/47
http://studio.imagemagick.org/piperm...ry/007107.html

I'm not sure if you can also limit the CPU usage. Maybe

Code:
man convert
knows more about this.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 16:59
Can't start apache Musty Server Operation 12 9th March 2008 13:58
Problem with keeping Apache alive bobeq Server Operation 3 29th November 2007 16:11
New sites not added to Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? High server loads? jameso General 23 28th March 2007 00:31
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 02:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.