#1  
Old 18th October 2008, 12:50
hfrfc hfrfc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Clonezilla SE ?

Hi !

Maybe i think that it will be a good idea to have a HOWTO about Clonezilla Server Edition

This software is really great but it is quite complex as a standalone server with DRBL.

Clonezilla SE seems to be a great alternative to Ghost Suite and it's free
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th January 2009, 22:17
Chr.Raible Chr.Raible is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I Request the same on the German Howtoforge, but no one made an tutorial.

It will be great if someone write it.

In hope

Chr.Raible

PS: If some have another great tutoril how to set up more then 40 PC´s parallel can tell me
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th January 2009, 13:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chr.Raible View Post
I Request the same on the German Howtoforge, but no one made an tutorial.

It will be great if someone write it.
I have this on my To-Do list.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chr.Raible View Post
PS: If some have another great tutoril how to set up more then 40 PC´s parallel can tell me
If you want to install Fedora/CentOS systems, take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/automatic-...start-and-novi
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th January 2009, 21:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Here you go: http://www.howtoforge.com/cloning-li...-clonezilla-se
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
netphreak (2nd February 2009)
  #5  
Old 27th January 2009, 16:56
hfrfc hfrfc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

THANKS YOU very much Falko !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2nd February 2009, 20:35
netphreak netphreak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for doing this howto!

But I find the preliminary information a little too short... One or two network cards? Etch as DHCP server, or external?

I did follow your guidance to the point, and I could not boot clients from PXE. Most likely because a Windows 2003 server handle DHCP, and the scope does not involve the 10 first IP addresses in the subnet (default in the "lazyness" script).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd February 2009, 20:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

I've tried this with one NIC and no DHCP server (except the one that comes with CloneZilla).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 4th February 2009, 10:20
netphreak netphreak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Alright. Then it would help a lot of “newbies” (we are the ones actually following these howto’s, right ) if you update the howto with a little information on how you configured your NIC before starting the installation of DRBL /Clonezilla. And explaned that the server would fuction as a DHCP server.

I know you’re busy and thank you very much for all your effort – but since this is in the “begging forum” and all – it would be lovely if you could provide some guidance on how to use two NIC’s as well – so that you could have one for internet access and one for DHCP server/clients.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th February 2009, 20:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
 
Default

I haven't tried this with two NICs, so I can't provide any details about such a setup right now.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.