#1  
Old 3rd August 2006, 20:58
dimas dimas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 6 Posts
Default adding an installation source

this is my second new thread in a row, i'm sorry - but this question is a bit different...

i can't add an installation source in yast (suse 10.1). i do everything according to the 'perfect setup' (using mirrors from opensuse.org) but after adding a mirror computer seems to hang for 10-20 minutes and then displays 'an error occurred while preparing the installation source'.

at the same time my internet connection works - i can get files with wget easily...
also, the installion sources that i'm trying to add are accessible from another pc...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th August 2006, 09:58
dimas dimas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 6 Posts
Default

By the way, I can't even add a local directory as an installation source (after copying all files from suse dvd-rom)

The error I get is described above.

Please help me...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th August 2006, 13:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

That's the crappy SuSE 10.1... I had some similar issues, as you can see here: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_suse_10.1
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th August 2006, 15:01
vbrookie vbrookie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I guess you can add the installation source manually using y2pmsh (Yast2 Package Manager Shell)
I haven't tested it but it sound promising.
1) Install y2pmsh from DVD: yast -i y2pmsh
2) Excute: y2pmsh
3) Add installation source: source -a http://your.mirror.url/and/installation/source

Hope this works for yyou.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 4th August 2006, 22:19
dimas dimas is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 122
Thanks: 7
Thanked 25 Times in 6 Posts
 
Default

thank you for your reply! however, I became so frustrated with suse 10.1 over these 2 days, that I just ditched it and installed fedora core 5

It was not an easy decision - because I always aspire to get down to the root of the problem... I guess it just was too much for me...

by the way, I had this problem with installation sources on only one pc (on my second pc it went well) - I don't know why!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrade from 2.2.0 to 2.2.1 successful but SSL and IMAP stopped working teleriddler Installation/Configuration 8 29th April 2006 14:25
Logging in to isp config Jrdgames General 43 6th March 2006 19:04
ISPC install stops str2etboy Installation/Configuration 19 28th January 2006 07:18
ISPConfig Firewall and no sense MyLinux General 7 9th September 2005 17:35
Why install from source instead of debian packages? TheMike HOWTO-Related Questions 3 27th July 2005 10:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.