Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th February 2009, 05:06
JeanLuc JeanLuc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default debian xen setup with global ipv4 and ipv6

Hi,

i'll try to setup a xen under etch with a global ipv4 and ipv6 in bridge mode and hardware virtualization for windows guests.

I think this howto is to old (http://www.howtoforge.com/debian_etch_xen_3.1) and i should use xen 3.3 instead or is 3.0.3 up2date enough?

However, i want to use xen with a global ip, i think that a just use the global ips in the creating dialog?

xen-create-image --hostname=xen1.example.com --size=2Gb --swap=256Mb --ide \
--ip=$GLOBAL_IP_OF_GUEST --netmask=255.255.255.0 --gateway=$GLOBAL_IP_OF_HOST

I have no real idea becuase I didn't find any hints, but maye i have to create it with local ips and just adding the global ip in the guest to eth0?
Then it is not a problem to add there the v6 ip too, but in the other case i have no idea how to do this.

Hope ypu can help me with this.

Greetings
jeanluc
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th February 2009, 19:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Use the public IP, but make sure you also use the correct netmask and gateway.

I've tried Xen 3.3 on Debian Etch, but I wasn't able to create any guests (they just don't boot). I'm still working on this, but I'm not sure if I will find a solution.

You could try Xen 3.2 on Lenny: http://www.howtoforge.com/virtualiza...an-lenny-amd64
But one strange thing I noticed is that - although the CPU of my test system is capable of hardware virtualization (AMD-V) - as soon as you boot the Xen kernel, the "svm" (which shows that the AMD CPU supports hardware virtualization) disappears from the cat /proc/cpuinfo output (which means you cannot do hardware virtualization, but just paravirtualization). Not sure if this happens just on my system...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th February 2009, 04:09
JeanLuc JeanLuc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi,

ok, it was easy, everything works fine out of the box expect ipv6.

I've just tried to add a v6 adresse and the gateway to the guest eth0, but i think bridge in dom0 ignores it because a neighboorhoodquery fails there.

Any idea?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Postfix IPV4 0r IPV6? hotchilli Server Operation 9 3rd June 2014 01:53
Postfix error: can't use email!! Please help. miguelpinheiro General 7 16th November 2008 23:00
Please help me whit bind9 astra2000 Server Operation 12 10th October 2007 02:43
Perfect Ubuntu Mail Problems parkerj Installation/Configuration 6 25th March 2007 01:34
Problems: no SMTP with postfix on ISP-config, suse9.3 v-server topgig_admin Server Operation 16 7th December 2006 15:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.