Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th February 2009, 08:36
Bei Bei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Xen mounting another lv in guests

Following this guide:
http://www.howtoforge.com/virtualiza...an-lenny-amd64

I had a simple question.

I used the lvm option as i see great potential here.

I have successfully create 3 guest O/S'es

Guest 1 - Samba / PDC
Guest 2 - Zimbra Mail Server
Guest 3 - Apache php / mysql server

What I would like to make the base lvm for all the guests as small as i need for the basic systems.

Is it possible to make a lv on the hosts and mount it in the guests for more flexibility on disk space?

for example Guest 1 has its base setup with 5G lv mounted in the guest as /,
I would like to create a new lv on the host that is say 200G and mount that in Guest 1 in /home/shares.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th February 2009, 18:53
atjensen11 atjensen11 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 199
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

If I understand you correctly, you are wanting to pass another disk device to your DomU. I have done this a few times in Ubuntu 8.04.

In my DomU config file, I add another device line such as:

Code:
disk        = [
                  'phy:/dev/host/vm.example.com-swap,xvda1,w',
                  'phy:/dev/host/vm.example.com-disk,xvda2,w',
                  'phy:/dev/host/vm.example.com-home,xvda3,w',
              ]
Restart the DomU and then within the DomU virtual machine, edit the fstab file.

Code:
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0
/dev/xvda1 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/xvda2 / ext3 noatime,nodiratime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/xvda3 /home/files  ntfs-3g defaults        0       0
In my case, the third entry is the extra device we passed and is an NTFS partition for my file server.

Then just issue a "mount -a" command at the command prompt and you should see your new partition mounted where you specified.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th February 2009, 08:04
Bei Bei is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

Thank you that is exactly what I was looking for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
debian xen kernel and xen kernel tom HOWTO-Related Questions 1 31st August 2007 17:44
Xen on Debian installed but no eth0 mksco HOWTO-Related Questions 2 14th June 2007 05:10
Xen 3.0.3 + Debian - No modules available in VM LeoLinux HOWTO-Related Questions 3 1st March 2007 23:59
Xen 3.0 and 3Ware 9550sx Z3n HOWTO-Related Questions 1 29th June 2006 23:39
Is it possible to start a domU from Xen 2.x under Xen 3.0? Gurke666 Kernel Questions 1 25th April 2006 16:34


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.